Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    22

    Using HDMI to LCD TV

    Does my G75 need to be turned off when I connect an HDMI cable to an LCD tv or is it ok to plug it in while the notebook is turned on?

    Anything else special I should know about connecting it to a tv?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I checked the manual on my G55 and it mentions the HDMI port, but doesn't specifically say if you can plug it in while on power. However, in my experience in the past with my other Asus laptop with an HDMI port, I've never powered off my machine to plug in to my TV and I've never had a problem. I believe HDMI is a plug similar to USB.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array cgren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    what i do whenever i watch movies on my 40inch mostly HD movies is i use Set Mutliple Display from Nvidia Control panel, and switch the output to my bigger panel, then automatically the laptop panel will turn off, unless youre doing a mutliple display or something else that you would need 2 monitors.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    HDMI is hot-pluggable, I do it all the time.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    22

    Ok, thanks guys. I didn't know the notebook screen could be turned off. Excellent.

    One other thing - I have the Tiger Direct model with max 1600x900 resolution screen, the tv is max 1920x1080 res. Will it be ok to run the tv at that higher resolution?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    You should be OK. No need to turn it off. It will output fine to your TV, even if the resolution is higher.
    "When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all."

    Looking for driver support? http://support.asus.com/ServiceHome.aspx?SLanguage=en
    North American service: http://www.service.asus.com/#!consumer/csn9
    Not in the US? http://support.asus.com/Hotlines.aspx?SLanguage=en

    direct contact: cl-tien@asus.com

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Djask's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    129

    Of course you can plug it in when the laptop is on. I've done it a million times.
    Asus G46VW
    i7 3630QM | 750GB Hard Drive | 1080p Full HD Display | Corsair Vengeance 16GB | GTX 660m | Windows 7 Ultimate

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    2,441

    sure, it is OK to that used.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    22

    Got it hooked up tonight. No problemo. Looks great. Thanks again.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    22

    Ok, one more question: My G75 display is 1600x900 max resolution, the TV display can do 1920x1080. If I set a game to use the 1920x1080 resolution of the TV display, then quit the game and forget to set it back to 1600x900, then start the game using the G75 display with the game still set at 1920x1080, what would happen. Would it damage my display? Just not start?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •