Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36
  1. #11
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    171
    Posts
    7,451

    The AI Suite temps are for PECI reporting. If you want DTS temps, then one of the other third party tools is best. I would advise turning off sensors in AI Suite if you run other polling tools though as it creates polling contention at the super IO.

    -Raja

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Totally gutted and mis-lead

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Not all boards support full 4-way as shown in the video. That video is not from the Hero board. The ROG boards don't have the Extreme tuning option like the channel boards do. Simply cos of hardware and the target audience.
    At no point has it been made clear in your marketing that the ROG boards don't have the auto tuning that made me choose Asus in the first place. All your videos and press releases just talk about this amazing AI Suite 3 on Z87 boards that can automatically get 95% out of your CPU overclocking.

    So i went and bought the Formula VI. What am i meant to do now! Can't take it back as its been installed. All the 'standard pre-sets' just blue screen my machine. It wasn't even easy to get AI Suite up and running as the CD in the box didn't run properly, i managed to find an update to download which wasn't easy to find, why is there not an auto update function on this software? There isn't even a check for updates button.

    So suggestions?

  3. #13
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Quote Originally Posted by Oberoth View Post
    All the 'standard pre-sets' just blue screen my machine.
    After clearing (resetting) the UEFI start with the 4200MHz preset. If you CPU is not capable of running stable once that preset has finished either lower the CPU multiplier or raise the CPU voltage some. Whichever of the two you are more comfortable doing and retest for stability.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by Oberoth View Post
    At no point has it been made clear in your marketing that the ROG boards don't have the auto tuning that made me choose Asus in the first place. All your videos and press releases just talk about this amazing AI Suite 3 on Z87 boards that can automatically get 95% out of your CPU overclocking.

    So i went and bought the Formula VI. What am i meant to do now! Can't take it back as its been installed. All the 'standard pre-sets' just blue screen my machine. It wasn't even easy to get AI Suite up and running as the CD in the box didn't run properly, i managed to find an update to download which wasn't easy to find, why is there not an auto update function on this software? There isn't even a check for updates button.

    So suggestions?
    i'm so mad about this as well. features of the ai suite is a big reason for me buying the Hero. and now when i see people tell that it causes all those issues and tell us to use the bios instead, feels like it is all false marketing. they should have mentioned that ROG boards don't support these advanced features.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    I am disappointing asus, only option I have contact retailer and ask full refund for board only pay for design not worth...

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    358
    Posts
    25,742

    OP how did your OC go this weekend. If you want to do BIOS based OC that is the best way of doing a 24/7 OC. The AISuite III software is a huge improvement over what I have used before.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    don't feel bad guys, my brand new 4770K isnt even stable using the 4.6 preset in the 4 way optimization on a Maximus VI Extreme!

    I have a feeling it's because i have 32GB of Ram running at 2400mhz. I tried lowering the ram to 1600mhz thinking i could get the preset to work flawlessly but it still locked up. I'm thinking either overclock is heavily limited by the amount of ram someone has installed, or i just have a crap chip.

    since i'm within 30 days of purchase i'm gonna exchange the chip, hopefully this will at least let me get 4.6ghz.

    /rant

    I am really dissapointed to read RAJ's post about the overclock tuning only being avaiable on channel boards. That is retarded. Do you guys have to have some sort of hardware for this tuning raj? if not, couldn't it theoretically run on the ROG Boards?

    Hell i know that's the case with RAM DISK, that program works on my X58 Computer, i7 920!!! haha.
    Last edited by jasonelmore; 09-02-2013 at 12:55 PM.

  8. #18
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Quote Originally Posted by jasonelmore View Post
    I tried lowering the ram to 1600mhz thinking i could get the preset to work flawlessly but it still locked up. I'm thinking either overclock is heavily limited by the amount of ram someone has installed, or i just have a crap chip.
    Haswell overclocking is limited by the the amount of ram installed and its speed. This limit varies depending on CPU. 4.6GHz stable with reasonable voltage requires an above average processor.

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array kaefers PC Specs
    kaefers PC Specs
    MotherboardGigabyte Z97N Gaming 5
    ProcessorIntel 4790K
    Memory (part number)2x8GB Mushkin 997122R, 2.4GHz, 10-12-12-28-2T
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 290X
    Monitor2x Eizo EV2736W
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro
    Storage #2yes
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X61
    CaseCorsair Air 240
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 860i
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 5
    Mouse Logitech MX Performance
    Headset Logitech H800
    OS Windows, Linux

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    If you take away the CPU optimization from the UBER marketed 4 (four)-Way Optimization, then all you are left with is some EPU nonesense, bit of fan lala, and Digi+ stuff. When checking in UEFI later, there is no actual Digi+ changing, just LLC to max - wow - epic fail Asus.

    If you read on the product website from my Maximus VI Formula, it says this 3-Way, sorry, 4-Way Optimization will actually get to within 95% of what the CPU is capable of. Ya, and I am Superman. Seriously, worst FALSE marketing I have actually experienced myself in a long time.

    How about some dude comes around and changes the UEFI for me for two days straight, since, and I quote from the Asus website "a process that typically could take up to 2 days to manually overclock" - given the software does not do as advertised.

    Luckily I can still return this board.
    ASUS Maximus VII Impact • Intel 4790K • 2x8GB Mushkin 997122R • Zotac 1080 Ti Mini • Samsung 970 Pro • Corsair SF 750 • NZXT Kraken X52 • NZXT H200i • Ducky Shine 5 • Logitech MX Performance • Logitech H800 • 2x Eizo EV2736W • Windows, Ubuntu

  10. #20
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Quote Originally Posted by kaefers View Post
    Luckily I can still return this board.
    If your that unhappy that would be my suggestion.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •