Page 8 of 29 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 18 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 281
  1. #71
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Download and open CPU-Z. Take a screenshot of the Memory tab. Will also need two screenshot of the SPD tab: One of the original RAM that came with your G750JX and another of the RAM you bought.
    Here are the screenshots. Thank you.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	8GB_Memory_tab.jpg 
Views:	85 
Size:	101.0 KB 
ID:	28285Click image for larger version. 

Name:	8GB_SPD_tab.jpg 
Views:	82 
Size:	133.2 KB 
ID:	28286Click image for larger version. 

Name:	16GB_Memory_tab.jpg 
Views:	82 
Size:	100.8 KB 
ID:	28287Click image for larger version. 

Name:	16GB_SPD_tab.jpg 
Views:	80 
Size:	134.0 KB 
ID:	28288

  2. #72
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    That's perfect. Now have you ran Memtest86+ to test your RAM? If not, please download it and run 1 or 2 cycles. There is a guide linked in my signature if you need help running the utility. Report back youe results.

  3. #73
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    I will and post the results tonight. Do you think this RAM should be 100% compatible ?

  4. #74
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    No error on Memtest86+ after one full cycle. This is very strange. I'm sure the RAM causes the blue screens because i tried 5 times my video rendering, and it crashed each time. Once i removed the extra RAM, there was no trouble anymore with the exact same operation...

    Thank you.

  5. #75
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Lucius Snow View Post
    No error on Memtest86+ after one full cycle. This is very strange. I'm sure the RAM causes the blue screens because i tried 5 times my video rendering, and it crashed each time. Once i removed the extra RAM, there was no trouble anymore with the exact same operation...you.
    Does your video rendering use CUDA acceleration? It might be your graphics card / graphics card memory. Did you OC it at all? Or is it at stock settings?

    Use something like Asus GPU Tweak tool to look at the GPU utilization while starting your render, if you don't know if it uses CUDA the GPU usage increase will suggest it is using the GPU for rendering. You could also use GPU-Z.

    Asus GPU Tweak - new version 2.4.7 - I have been using 2.4.6
    http://support.asus.com/download.asp...%20tweak&os=30

    TechPowerUp GPU-z - use the Sensors tab - click "continue refreshing while GPU-z is in the background"
    There is an ROG skinned version available
    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/SysInfo/GPU-Z/

    FYI, the Techpowerup GPU is available in Asus GPU Tweak Tool too, click on the GPU Info icon on the main tab. Asus GPU Tweak tool has it's own much nicer/larger scrolling graph log for GPU readings.
    Last edited by hmscott; 10-21-2013 at 01:32 AM.

  6. #76
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    There's no O/C at all, and i did two video rendering with and without GPU / CUDA acceleration enable.

    A new test this morning with the same video rendering and the 16 GB inside didn't crash. Strange.
    Last edited by Lucius Snow; 10-21-2013 at 08:45 AM.

  7. #77
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Hi I'm new to this forum and just bought a G750JW from ebuyer.com along with 2x intel 520 160gb SSDs and an extra 8gb of ram which is 1.5v. I'v had the laptop for over a week and slightly overclocked the CPU and overclocked the GPU to get around an extra 10/15% out of it. I haven't had a single problem with it. My CPU/GPU runs very cool.

    Since reading this I have ran some memory tests and haven't had a single error. Over all I'm extremely happy with it but just a little worried since reading about the ram.

  8. #78
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Lucius Snow View Post
    There's no O/C at all, and i did two video rendering with and without GPU / CUDA acceleration enable.
    A new test this morning with the same video rendering and the 16 GB inside didn't crash. Strange.
    You reseated the memory as part of your debugging?

  9. #79
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    You reseated the memory as part of your debugging?
    Yes i did.

  10. #80
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Lucius Snow View Post
    Yes i did.
    Re-seating the memory likely fixed the physical contact problem between the SO-DIMM and the socket. It might have been fine when it left the QA bench, but by the time the G750 reached you the memory had dislodged enough during shipping so as to be intermittent.

Page 8 of 29 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 18 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •