Page 13 of 29 FirstFirst ... 3 11 12 13 14 15 23 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 281
  1. #121
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by failsafe View Post
    Thanks for your reply.
    Actually I wonder if it's really possible to cause any damage with 1.5V. G750 uses HM87 as chipset and Intel says that it is compatible to normal DDR3 up to 1600MHz:
    http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/...t-diagram.html
    Is there really a risk to damage CPU IMC as stated in the first post?
    You would need to read the engineering notes to be sure, but because Intel made an effort to show 2 different paths into the CPU for the 2 different kinds of memory, I would bet that you aren't supposed to plug in the DDR3 memory into the DDR3L sockets, and the other way around. Intel likely has different requirements to support one or the other, but not both, in the same path/sockets/connections.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hm87-chipset-diagram-3x2.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	174.6 KB 
ID:	32137

  2. #122
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    The Hynix 8GB SODIMM HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB I ordered to add to the 3 that came with the JH arrived today, and it is the same part number that Asus used for the 3 that came with the JH:

    Original SO-DIMM (slot 2, under back panel)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	original sodimm.JPG 
Views:	58 
Size:	50.8 KB 
ID:	32613

    New SO-DIMM (slot 1, under back panel)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	new sodimm.JPG 
Views:	50 
Size:	50.7 KB 
ID:	32612

    Works fine, and shows up like the rest:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	32GB JH.JPG 
Views:	19 
Size:	147.7 KB 
ID:	32611

    Not bad for ~$110 shipped

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Apple-Hy...p2054897.l4275
    Last edited by hmscott; 01-23-2014 at 10:48 AM.

  3. #123
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Great hint to change RAM...
    Where are all 4 socket to change ram ?
    I've only found 2 near the HD (G750JX CV200H).
    Maybe they are hidden to my sight...

  4. #124
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Hi,
    I replaced now my DDR3 by DDR3L RAM, 4x4GB. But I still experienced BSODs. Far less then with DDR3 but still 3 times in the last 4 days.
    How can I verify if the RAM is the problem or if my hardware got damaged? Last time I used memtest86+ when I had DDR3 RAM, but it didn't find any problems. Will a new Windows 7 installation make a difference?

  5. #125
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by failsafe View Post
    Hi,
    I replaced now my DDR3 by DDR3L RAM, 4x4GB. But I still experienced BSODs. Far less then with DDR3 but still 3 times in the last 4 days.
    How can I verify if the RAM is the problem or if my hardware got damaged? Last time I used memtest86+ when I had DDR3 RAM, but it didn't find any problems. Will a new Windows 7 installation make a difference?
    If you are now running all matching pairs, and they pass the mem test, I would think about a quick reformat to rule that out as well.

  6. #126
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    According to Asus Support G750JW does not work with Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3L 1600MHz, SO DIMM, CL11, 1.35V. According to them its not compatible with the original memory modules....

  7. #127
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    just discovered:
    there is "1,5" mark on the RAM slot itself in my g750jh. But stock DIMMs are Hynix HMT451S6AFR8A - 1.283V to 1.45V... probably just "borrowed parts" from other model. Just think what "dumb user" must do if it says so.
    edit one more thing- Corsair´s "memory finder" suggest 1,5v memory for g750. I´v send them a letter couple a days ago, still ...
    Last edited by numanRC; 02-27-2014 at 08:08 PM.

  8. #128
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Harriaal is my hero. I have Kingston ValueRAM in my notebook and experienced BSODs (but only after long usage) - I couldn't narrow down the problem and also the shop who sold me it, didn't know that it is not compatible with the notebook. I need an official source from ASUS where it says that this RAM is not compatable. Should I contact ASUS support?
    [EDIT]
    I contacted now the Asus support to get information about compatible RAM.
    Last edited by failsafe; 03-02-2014 at 04:08 PM.

  9. #129
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    my expansion slot actually says 1.5v why is that? G750JW-BBI7N05

  10. #130
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by breadbutt View Post
    my expansion slot actually says 1.5v why is that? G750JW-BBI7N05
    Asus used old sockets for the new DDR3L laptops... they probably have millions of them still to build out into laptops...

    Physically compatible, from a time when 1.5v was cool... who woulda thought the next cool thing would be low voltage SODIMM's of the same form factor.

    Nothing to worry about, kinda funny really
    Last edited by hmscott; 03-04-2014 at 01:51 PM.

Page 13 of 29 FirstFirst ... 3 11 12 13 14 15 23 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •