cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB Devices Stuck/Not Detected/Recognized after plugging in. Restart Fixes it.

SPARTAN
Level 7
Help! I have had an extremely extremely annoying problem since I built my new machine about a year ago. I'm a composer and it is really frustrating to have to restart my computer and everything I have loaded into memory when I figure out my USB devices don't work correctly. Really takes away from my workflow.

My Usb Devices aren't re-detected if I unplug it, or if I plug in a device after my machine has already turned on. When I force reset my computer (Using hardware button), everything works like normal. But then I shut down my computer and the next time I turn it on, it happens again...

I believe it is every other restart it has issues, but I'm not sure. I think it may be random. I do know that restarting it fixes it temporarily.

Can anyone recommend me a solution? I have tried formatting windows 8 and re-installing, but the same issue comes up. I have installed only what's listed on asus's download page. I even tried updating my Intel chipset and asmedia usb drivers. Nothing.

Bios related?

Summary:
-Unplug Device, Computer thinks its still plugged in. Hardware manager shows okay. Plug it back in. Nothing Happens. Device doesn't work.
-OR plug in a device after computer has started, not recognized. Doesn't show up.
-Hard Restart of computer fixes it and everything works fine.
-Shutdown computer, same problem happens after computer boots up.

Hardware:
-ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
-i7 3770K Processor
-2x Intel SSD
-5x WD/Seagate Hard Drives
-32GB Ripjaws Z Memory
-2x Nvidia 670 GFX Cards
-1x RME Audio Interface
-Many USB Devices
7 REPLIES 7

HiVizMan
Level 40
Hello mate could you tell me what BIOS version you are running?

And please list all your USB devices.
To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.