Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Asus G55VW DS71 16GB Ram

    Hi, I have this laptop, model DS71 and I check for new RAM, I chose Corsair Vengeance ddr3 1600. http://www.corsair.com/en/memory-by-...2a1600c10.html My question is, I have 4 slots for 16gb total of ram, then I may place 2x8gb in 2 slots onto 4? or I am forced to place 4x4gb in 4 slots?


    Thank you very much.
    Martin Thibodeau.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SHADO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    236

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but your model already has 12GB installed, right?
    Last edited by SHADO; 06-30-2013 at 12:09 AM.
    ASUS G75VW
    i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz
    GTX 660M (2GB)
    16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    1TB HDD
    2TB HDD
    Blu-ray Writer (Pana. UJ-260)

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Yes I have 12GB of ram and my cpu is i7 3610qm

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SHADO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    236

    You only have easy access to two of the 4 RAM slots. Have you removed the bottom panel? If so, are both slots empty? I'm guessing that the two slots you CAN'T see might already have 2x4gb sticks in them, and that one of the 2 slots you CAN see from the bottom already has a 1x4gb stick installed, leaving one slot empty. Can you confirm this?

    If so, just put a 4gb stick in the last empty slot to bring your total to 16gb.
    Last edited by SHADO; 06-30-2013 at 12:27 AM.
    ASUS G75VW
    i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz
    GTX 660M (2GB)
    16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    1TB HDD
    2TB HDD
    Blu-ray Writer (Pana. UJ-260)

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    yes the DIMM 1 and DIMM 2 are under the keyboard with each 4gb and I have 1x 4GB in below the G55. I have 1 DIMM free.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SHADO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    236

    I personally wouldn't try to mess with the RAM under the keyboard, but that's just me. Easier to just stick that last 4gb stick in the bottom empty slot.
    ASUS G75VW
    i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz
    GTX 660M (2GB)
    16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    1TB HDD
    2TB HDD
    Blu-ray Writer (Pana. UJ-260)

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I want to swap completly the old memory to switch with corsair for maximum performance and compatibility improve

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SHADO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    236

    Ah, now I get it. Sorry, I misunderstood. Should be a fun project.

    I'm not well versed on such things. Is it really worth the trouble of tearing the laptop apart to swap out the current RAM? Is the performance improvement substantial?
    Last edited by SHADO; 06-30-2013 at 12:45 AM.
    ASUS G75VW
    i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz
    GTX 660M (2GB)
    16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    1TB HDD
    2TB HDD
    Blu-ray Writer (Pana. UJ-260)

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    thank you for your explain SHADO

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SHADO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    236

    Okay. After rereading your original question, yes, you can use 2x8gb sticks.
    ASUS G75VW
    i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz
    GTX 660M (2GB)
    16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    1TB HDD
    2TB HDD
    Blu-ray Writer (Pana. UJ-260)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •