Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    G74Sx Fresco Logic USB3 Host Controller is not found! [solved?]

    Been searching the internet and these forums for days now. Can't seem to find a solution to this problem.

    Model: G74Sx-DH73-3D
    I just did a fresh install, first thing I did was install chipset drivers but now I can't get my USB 3.0 port working and when I try to install the host controller i get "Fresco Logic USB3 Host Controller is not found!"

    I seem to have a bunch of usb controllers in device manager (i feel like too many?)
    Anyone know what to do here?


    Last edited by XZ3R0; 06-27-2013 at 09:05 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Welcome to the ROG forums, XZ3R0.

    What is the exact modelo of your laptop?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Opps, G74Sx-DH73-3D
    Last edited by XZ3R0; 06-27-2013 at 09:02 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Are you downloading the driver from the Asus website or from another site? And is your Windows 32Bit or 64Bit?

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    2,441

    what OS version do you install? win 7 or win 8? ASUS have not provide Win 8 driver.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Are you downloading the driver from the Asus website or from another site? And is your Windows 32Bit or 64Bit?
    Ive tried the ones off the ASUS site that are listed for my laptop and i have tried newer ones as well. same outcome.
    Windows 7 64bit.

    It's like it doesn't know it exists. Plugging something into the port does absolutely nothing as well. Working fine before reformat.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Are there any "unknown device" entries in Hardware Manager? And have you tried plugging a pendrive into the USB 3.0 port to see if it's working?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Are there any "unknown device" entries in Hardware Manager? And have you tried plugging a pendrive into the USB 3.0 port to see if it's working?
    No there isn't. [see photo in first post]
    Yes, several [see last reply]

    Edit: i will add, it powers up an external hdd, but obviously i don't get any notification about a new device or see it in explorer or etc.
    Last edited by XZ3R0; 06-28-2013 at 02:19 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Ok. I'll need you to do the following.

    1. Open Windows Power Management or Asus Power4Gear.
    2. Disable the USB power saving options.
    3. Proceed to uninstall all those USB devices that are in your picture.
    4. Reboot.
    5. Windows will start installing the standard USB drivers upon reboot.
    6. Download and install USB3_Fresco_Win7_64_Z35240.zip.

    Report back.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Ok. I'll need you to do the following.

    1. Open Windows Power Management or Asus Power4Gear.
    2. Disable the USB power saving options.
    3. Proceed to uninstall all those USB devices that are in your picture.
    4. Reboot.
    5. Windows will start installing the standard USB drivers upon reboot.
    6. Download and install USB3_Fresco_Win7_64_Z35240.zip.

    Report back.
    Disabled selective suspending on USB.
    Uninstalled all drivers (and deleted the one that gave me the option)
    Reboot
    Windows reinstalled drivers
    Same error when attempting to install Fresco Host Controller

    Now drivers look like this:
    Last edited by XZ3R0; 06-28-2013 at 03:29 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •