Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 83
  1. #31
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    you know i dint check what happened when the fans caught up. That gives me hope. Im going to try that out right now and I will get back to you. 10c is a pretty big deal in our world!

  2. #32
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Well I only noticed a drop from 96c to 92c, but I think you may be on to something when it comes to the fans catching up to the temp. Im going to try to adjust the fan speed in the bios or possibly find some other way. I will also look into running a benchmark that takes a little longer so the fans will have more time to run at full speed.

  3. #33
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    One more update. I used Intel extreme tuning utility to overclock slightly and drop the dynamic cpu voltage and I actually got a slightly higher Cinebench score with a total max out temp of 91c. Im going to play with this some more and see what I can get out of it

  4. #34
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Flea0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    211

    the G750 has a rather less aggressive fan speed policy than other laptops I owned - they take a few seconds longer to speed up and they keep high rpm for longer even after load and temps have dropped back to idle. Because of this, the max temps you will record are almost always going to be the ones that develop in the first 10 seconds of benchmarks...
    ASUS G750JX -- i7-4700 - 16GB - 128GB 840 PRO SSD + 1TB HDD - Nvidia GTX 770M - 120Hz 3D glossy display

  5. #35
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    A 100-200mhz is not worth for the increased effect you will get.
    The cooling is pretty good so i don't think it will throttle but 3,4/3.6 is like 5% faster cpu.
    A gaminglaptop with this week gpu compared the cpu will probably not benifit much from the 5% faster cpu however my guess is that the heat scales diffrent so it will be abit warmer.

    If you should change something try undervolt it like 70-100mv and get it to run cooler.

    This is a gaminglaptop and the diffrence is for sure not noticeable in any game, only thing you notice is more heat from cpu.

  6. #36
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Flea0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    211

    I'm not sure about that gebba123, I've seen several benchmarks where some modern cpu-heavy games have gotten tangible FPS gains when using an i7-4900 instead of an i7-4700. As long as there are games where part of the bottleneck IS the cpu, there is something to gain overclocking it. although I don't think I'm going to bother
    ASUS G750JX -- i7-4700 - 16GB - 128GB 840 PRO SSD + 1TB HDD - Nvidia GTX 770M - 120Hz 3D glossy display

  7. #37
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by gebba123 View Post
    A 100-200mhz is not worth for the increased effect you will get.
    The cooling is pretty good so i don't think it will throttle but 3,4/3.6 is like 5% faster cpu.
    A gaminglaptop with this week gpu compared the cpu will probably not benifit much from the 5% faster cpu however my guess is that the heat scales diffrent so it will be abit warmer.

    If you should change something try undervolt it like 70-100mv and get it to run cooler.

    This is a gaminglaptop and the diffrence is for sure not noticeable in any game, only thing you notice is more heat from cpu.

    If im using intel extreme tuning which values exactly should I be undervolting?

  8. #38
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    108

    Mine was at the -70 too and i had no problems bf4 beta kept crashing after a while and also my pc started randomly restarting every 2 days and when i opened xtu it said it crashed so clocks were reset to defaults..what is a stable clocks for this cpu? what are u guys using? i have the same cpu 4700hq... i pulled the offsets down to 59 and i benchmarked it lost 5 points. but i have no idea if its stable now.

  9. #39
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Every cpu is unique.. We can't tell you at what point your CPU becomes stable. Change voltage in 10mV increments until it is stable.
    i7-7700k @ 5GHz | Asus ROG Maximus IX Hero | 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 4133 MHz | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC 11 Gbps | ASUS MG279Q | Intel 256GB 600p NVMe | Samsung 850 EVO 500GB

  10. #40
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by kingkaan View Post
    Mine was at the -70 too and i had no problems bf4 beta kept crashing after a while and also my pc started randomly restarting every 2 days and when i opened xtu it said it crashed so clocks were reset to defaults..what is a stable clocks for this cpu? what are u guys using? i have the same cpu 4700hq... i pulled the offsets down to 59 and i benchmarked it lost 5 points. but i have no idea if its stable now.
    It does get confusing with all the variables involved, but keep in mind that the CPU should run fine at default settings. If you don't want to think about tuning for a while, put things back at defaults and enjoy your gaming, then come back to tuning later.

    Increasing the multipliers to max settings is only 5% increase, modest and unlikely to overheat your CPU unless you have a bad paste job - which might be some. Check your temps at stock before turning up the multipliers. You can also run stock speeds with voltage offsets to reduce temps.

    Setting the voltage offset to -50mV for CPU/cache should be stable for everyone, but it varies by CPU. Any amount that runs stably for your CPU is good, it will reduce the heat output. Also good to do at stock CPU speeds, really cool temps then.

    For me setting at -65mV is stable, even under sustained load, but if I go to -75mV it will reset occasionally. I haven't tried -70mV, but I will at some point because it will reduce the heat further.

    All tuning gets to the point where you might be 1 or 2 points off of failure, and stable.

    Are you sure the BF4 crashes were due to CPU? BF4 hits the GPU pretty hard too. I ran BF4 for hours at 5200mhz Memory on the GPU. CPU ran fine at max multiplier and -65mV on CPU/cache.
    Last edited by hmscott; 10-10-2013 at 06:10 AM.

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •