Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    First PC build, i7 4770K overclock.

    Hello I build my first PC and I wonder if I am doing anything wrong. I use AI suit III to overclock and AIDA64 to test stability.
    At idle my processor run between 32-36 degrees when playing games like battlefield 3 it goes up to 58-62 degrees.

    I use a corsair H110 watercooling but when I see benchmarks on the internet they keep the CPU cooler is there something wrong with my H110?

    So I tried to start overclocking with AI suite III and putted the overclock on 4.6GHZ, when I run AIDA64 within secondes my CPU hits 100 degree and starts trotheling back. So after that I tried 4.4GHZ my CPU hits now 93 degree with AIDA64 and does not throttle back anymore.

    So I put my OC on 4.2 GHZ now I get 33-38 Idle, 60-68 when gaming and with AIDA64 I get 83 degree max.

    When I put my CPU on stock speed it hits 73 degree with AIDA64 it seems quite high for me.

    When I do intel extreme utulity stress test my CPU only hits 73 degree OCed at 4.2 GHZ I heard that AIDA64 pushes the CPU way harder then needed is that truth, so what should I use as reference to have a safe OC.

    I use inter utility extreme to make a benchmark, so intel compared my CPU performance compared to other people with the same CPU and settings. And it told me that my CPU was excellent and that it was better scoring then average people.

    Why can I only OC to 4.2 GHZ then?? If I go higher temps are to high, I noticed that at 4.6 GHZ it places the CPU at 1.3v isn't that a bit high is that the reason of the high temps maybe that AI suite III puts to much voltage? Or is that normal.

    When I installed my H110 I placed my heatsink connector into CPU_fan I placed one of the fans in CPU_OPT and the last fan in CPU_FAN2, when I go in fan expert to it let me set all the fans but not the CPU_OPT I can't get access to the CPU_OPT settings.

    I noticed that it says that CPU_fan runs at 1400RPM but there is no fan??? It is simply my heatsink of the H110. And the two other fans CPU_OPT and CPU_FAN 2 only run at 700 RPM. So when I game I need to put them always on MAX. What I find strange is when I put them on max it only maxes my CPU 3-4 degree cooler.


    So my follow questions.

    Is my Corsair H110 not working correctly, Or are these temps totally normal in a Corsair 650D case?
    Is my CPU maybe a bad overclocker, but why tells intel me then it better then average?
    Or is it maybe my fans that are bad stetted, but I put them on max anyways when using AIDA64.

    I


    My specs:
    i7 4770k 3.5GHZ
    Corsair Dominator platinum ram 1866GHZ 16GB
    Corsair obsidian 650D
    Asus ROG maximus VI HERO
    Corsair H110
    HX 850 watt
    GTX 780 ACX SC

  2. #2
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    the best way to OC is to do it in the bios.
    take a look at this page -> http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Do you think the fact I place lower voltage manually, it will get lower temps then A suite III ?? I trusted AI because I tough it's 100 percent safe.

    What max voltage would you suggest me 1.3v, I saw in a review that you should put CPU core voltage on manually then stress-test and then put on adaptive mode. But they also said that adaptive mode sometimes goes over the max voltage you stetted isn't that dangerous?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array fbm211's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    380

    Your CPU fan speed is your pump speed I believe. AI SUITE is adding to much voltage.
    As kkn states its much better to OC via BIOS.
    G1 Sniper 3
    Intel i7 3770k @ 4.7ghz
    Custom Water Cooling
    Gskill Trident X 2400 mhz-CL 9 @ 2450
    GeForce GTX 970
    VelociRaptor II 150
    XFX 850 Black Edition PSU
    Cooler Master HAF X
    Acer G245H 24 inch monitor
    Vanatoo T 0s speaker system
    ROG mouse
    ROG Keyboard when available

  5. #5
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    ai suite is not 100% stable when it comes to OC.
    for OC its trial and error.
    if you BSOD's you have to start over again.
    just be shure to use ONE monitor program, or else you may getting unacurate readings ( if you run other programs then ai suite )

    for gaming a OC at around 4.4 is the sweet spot.
    multiplyer at 44
    try a voltage at around 1.34v ( for a start )
    set memory profile on XMP
    ^^ do that inside bios, if it boots up fine, start to lover voltage lill by lill until you get a bsod and then raise the voltage by 1-2 notches.
    Last edited by kkn; 07-05-2013 at 04:11 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    When I go into the BIOS when I go the the voltage part I can choice between manual auto adaptive and offset. When I select manual I see CPU voltage override. Is that where I change my voltage? Because it looks different in my BIOS then on the screenshots of the tutorial.

    On the tutorial it simply shows CPU voltage. On my BIOS I see CPU voltage but I cannot change it and under it CPU voltage override.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    And by the way what about the temps are they ok ??

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    AIDA64 and AiSuite are both polling the same sensors... you can have misreadings as a result... or even other conflicts....

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    55

    I agree with kkn OC in the bios

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Ok I started Overclocking tell me if I forgot something I don't want to break my PC I waited 4 years to get it XD


    I putted:

    AI overclocker on auto
    CPU tweaker on auto
    xtreme tweaker off

    46 sync on all cores

    4.6GHZ

    And a voltage of 1.28.

    I started with a voltage of 1.2 I had a bluescreen
    Then 1.25 bluescreen aswell while running aida64
    1.27 was ok for ten minutes then a bluescreen when I was talking on skype while doing the stresstest of aida64.

    Now 1.28v after stress testing of 20 minutes no bluescreen or crashes with max temperatures of 92 degree but it hits 92 degree for a seconde and drops again to 70-80 temps change very fast and constantly.

    Is the voltage safe for adaptive mode or is it to high and it will **** my pc up?

    Is the temperature ok? AIDA64 pushes untill a level a normal Gaming pc would never push I guess or should I downclock to 4.5 GHZ?

    Last question did I forget to change anything like enable disable ??

    I don't want to break the PC.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •