Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 76

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    technical help please

    Hi all, I'm very new to all this and I am looking forward to when I finish building my first pc , but I've now got to the stage where I'm pulling my hair out, so I'm hoping someone can help. I've taken it into a pc shop and he tells me that its working fine, but I get it home it works ok for maybe an hour then the problems start again. The problem is, when its up and going, it works fine, but when I put it in to sleep it is hit or miss whether it will work. Sometimes the mouse curser will move but I can't click on anything. I have loved building this and its cost me a second mortgage lol but its driving me insane now. So can any of you guys let me know if you have a pc shop between Kent and London so I can bring it to you, as a paying customer of course lol
    Here are my specs:


    caselabs st10 case
    3970x processor
    rampage iv extreme
    32g dominator platinum 1866
    asus GeForce gtx660ti
    ax860i
    h100i

    many thanks in advance

  2. #2
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    well the ppl here is like you, we do this willingly and try and help others as good as we can.
    do you want it to go in to "sleep" or can you let it be on all the time?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    The immediate answer that screams out at me is that your Ram is not 100% stable. Ram plays such a huge part of the sleep process and how successful the wake part of that process will be.

    If you run the memtest86+ utility, you can find a download link in the guide in my sig, at your current ram settings do you pass two cycles without any error?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    hi kkn
    I'm always on and off the pc so I like the sleep mode it just makes it easy for me

    HIVIzMan
    I ran the memtest86+ utility it is now on test #4 and has been running for eight minutes with no errors. So I am not sure what to do next.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    I forgot I also have 2 Samsung 840 pros in raid 0 if that makes any difference

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Let the memtest finish two full cycles.

    Test 4 is not even half way.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Let the memtest finish two full cycles.

    Test 4 is not even half way.
    With 32GB of memory, you perhaps looking for an overnight run with memtest86+... just leave it there at evening and check for errors in the morning...

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    hi ZKa17
    It's done one pass with no errors, but I will let it run for the night . As I mentioned before, i'm very new to this and have very little knowledge of bios ram settings etc I purchased all the parts and got a pc shop to set it up, but after reading the forums for the last couple of weeks I started to think this system might be a bit too complex for him. When I mentioned things like trim ect he said he'd never heard of it so I don't know if it's even set up properly. It seems to work, but it just seems very unstable. I have run real bench and the stress test, and it said that the computer was stable, it just seems to go wrong sometimes when its turned on and 4 out of 5 times when using sleep .
    Thanks for all your help

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    sorry told you im a novice lol I get it now it is still running anyway, it says pass 34% is 100% 1 cycle

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Indeed.


    And do not worry about being a novice, we are all ROG
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •