Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 76
  1. #51
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Hi rammie
    not yet I was thinking about this but I have a raid 0 set up that was done by the pc shop. I've done 1 or 2 normal installs I've never set up a raid
    Last edited by ted west; 07-09-2013 at 07:31 PM.

  2. #52
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    ha ha Arne I've just put all the stick of ram in and done a windows memory test an guess what
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4387.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	488.9 KB 
ID:	23110

  3. #53
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    and there was me dissing windows memtest LOL.....hmmm shouldn't laugh....you say the kit that passes memtest86+ (13/14) fails sleep now? but it didn't use to? you said this started happening after installing second kit right? or have I got that wrong....

  4. #54
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    no sorry Arne, that's the problem I've had all along, when pc is on all is ok (even with the dodgy ram lol ) its only when I put it to sleep when it wakes the mouse moves but can't click on anything

  5. #55
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Quote Originally Posted by rammie View Post
    noob reply coming up..... but have you tried re-installing your OS?
    noob or not that's a good idea rammie...and noob is not really a term that's recognized on ROG forums...not with any seriousness anyway


    Quote Originally Posted by ted west View Post
    no sorry Arne, that's the problem I've had all along, when pc is on all is ok (even with the dodgy ram lol ) its only when I put it to sleep when it wakes the mouse moves but can't click on anything
    Hmm was just re-reading the thread and saw you said this had been happening from the beginning.
    Still sounds ram related but ...

    DID you follow HiVizMan's memtest guide step by step...I know I've asked before but not sure if you did it 100%...the reason I ask is that this is the only way to be sure this is not a problem originating with the board or CPU....
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 07-09-2013 at 07:53 PM.

  6. #56
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    do you think it might be a windows problem then Arne if so I best start learning how to set up raid

  7. #57
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    No, I don't.... but I have no way of knowing that for sure...100%.... so a fresh install would be a good idea as a testing measure...though obviously a hassle ( how to here by the way: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=)

    First thing, I have to insist, is the memtest86+ shuffle a la HiViz...if you don't do it super scientifically.... each and every long step, you will be left with questions unanswered and doubts...

  8. #58
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    I think I've run the test correctly I set the bios to default ran all 4 ram sticks in d_1 = all 4 passed. then ran all 4 in d_1 and B_1 that's when I found the faults on 2 sticks of ram is there a way of testing the other slots as I thought the ram must be fitted in a certain way

  9. #59
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    You should be able to test a good stick by itself in b1 too....that way you know if it's sticks or slots...and if slots maybe try reseating CPU and looking for bent pins in sockets etc.

  10. #60
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    I went back to pc shop today and showed him what the windows memtest said. and he,s agreed to send both kits back, and supply me with a single 64gb kit. only problem is I have to wait for them to refund him now before I can get my new ram.

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •