cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading a CPU fan, never done before.

Dandynamite
Level 7
Hi,

Whilst I have some mild experience in building computers, I haven't touched anything but a stock CPU fan in the past.
My current PC is running an AMD FX-8350 Eight Core Processor, on the ROG Crosshair v-z Motherboard, and is currently using the stock AMD clip attach fan.

I intend to eventually move on to overclocking my system at some point, and have been told its a good idea to upgrade the fan.However I haven't done it before, so found several well-reviewed fan that fit my processor allegedly, I believe is AM3 type.

The fans I had a look at where

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Arctic-Cooling-Freezer-Xtreme-Cooler/dp/B001X017G2/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=13...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Akasa-AK-CC4008HP01-Voodoo-Extreme-Performance/dp/product-description/B005O6...

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=BU-001-TL

Wondering if these any good, or if anybody knew of any that where really good, and when it comes to thermal paste does it need to be completely removed and re-applied, and is there an easy way to do this as again, I haven't touched CPUs in the past.

Many thanks
18 REPLIES 18

Chino
Level 15
What is your budget for your new heatsink and what case are you using?

Yes, you'll need to completely remove the thermal paste before applying a new one to it. Personally I use isoprophyl alcohol to remove the old paste. Others prefer those fancy cleaners like the one from Arctic Silver.

Dandynamite
Level 7
Budget is fairly irrelevant (I'm a Gap year student with a full time job), but I'd like the fan to be preferably under £100, but if it needs to be more
then its not something I can skimp on I guess.

Case is the Bitfenix Collusus in white.

Corsair Builder Series 750W PSU but if the fan needs loads more I can upgrade it I guess?

Peretti
Level 7
im using the same cpu/mobo combo as you