Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 86
  1. #21
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    You're welcome. Be sure to let us know.

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    So... i just loosened up the Noctua NH-D14 a tad bit , to the point that it's still secured and not moving , but not 100% screwed in (it needs like 1 more turn to not be able to be screwed any further from both sides).

    I played a game for a while , DotA2 , not very demanding , but my pc crashed on it aswell so i tried it out , after 3 hours of gameplay , still no crash , don't want to jinx it , but if it was the cooler being tight that caused the crashes... i don't know what to say seriously... lol

  3. #23
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    i think i had that same error once
    i updated my ssd firmware and haven't seen it since (maybe it was not related and i just got lucky)


    error i got caused by address ntoskrnl.exe+5a440

    Code:
    071813-7281-01.dmp	18-7-2013 15:52:41	DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE	0x0000009f	00000000`00000003	fffffa80`0c7aea60	fffff801`fb7d67f0	fffffa80`12c6a7e0	ntoskrnl.exe	ntoskrnl.exe+5a440	NT Kernel & System	Microsoft® Windows® Operating System	Microsoft Corporation	6.2.9200.16628 (win8_gdr.130531-1504)	x64	ntoskrnl.exe+5a440					C:\Windows\Minidump\071813-7281-01.dmp	4	15	9200	841.008	18-7-2013 16:35:08

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    By loosening the cooler you may just have allowed a socket pin that was misaligned to adjust and make a clean contact on the CPU pad.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #25
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    If being loose fixes the issue remove the CPU and check all the pins with a strong light and magnifier lens. When refastening the heatsink tighten evenly going back forth from side to side a bit at a time.

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Nope , sadly that didn't fix anything , got another crash not more than 5 mins ago , again after 2~3 hours of gaming... same error as the one i posted before , exact same parameters... i'm so sad about this , i saved money for a year+ to get such a nice rig , and i can't enjoy it.
    And the worst thing is , i don't know why

  7. #27
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Do you still get the crashes if you run the ram at 1333MHz?

  8. #28
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    I had the ram at 1333Mhz for the first day , and yes i got a crash aswell, again only in a game , after 2~3 hours of gaming.

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    By the way , i have a question it might be stupid , but at this point , i'm desperate to find out what's happening.
    If i have a faulty part , the way stuff work in Greece , even under warranty i might end up having to re-buy it which is not possible , as i saved for more than a year to be able to buy these parts. ( if you know how stuff are in Greece atm you'll understand)
    Since this is possibly some kind of hardware problem , does that mean that regardless of what drivers/BIOS i have it will still occur? (i have the latest drivers for everything and the latest BIOS , i was just wondering.)

  10. #30
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    So i decided to do evertything from scratch again as a last resort , broke down everything and checked it out (did what you guys said about the strong light checking on each pin) , rebuilt the whole system , reformatted all hardrives , upgraded all firmwares, put latest drivers again , did clean install again , all seemed good , but boom , after 3 hours of gaming , WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR 0x124 again...

    Why me -.-

    Also something that i didn't notice until today , even though my ram XMP profile is set , and the voltage is 1.5000 in the UEFI it's hovering from 1.5000 to 1.5170 is this normal?
    (again sorry if this is a silly question , but i'm still trying to learn)
    Last edited by PheNoMx93; 07-25-2013 at 12:12 PM.

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •