cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G73SW Replacement Battery Questions

goodwill295
Level 7
Hello all,
I recently repaired my laptops motherboard, as posted in another thread, and everyone here was super helpful. So, i have decided to post a new question here about getting a replacement battery.

I have been shopping around for a new battery since mine is two years old now and I am confused on what kind to get. My OEM battery states that it is for a g73SW-XN2 and it is rated at 14.4V 5200mAH 74Wh. But all of the replacement batteries that i have looked at are rated at 14.8V including the original replacement battery from the ASUS eStore. But on the eStore it says it is compatible with almost all the latest G-series models, despite having different voltages.

So, any suggestions on where to get a reliable new battery?

On a side note, upon opening my laptop i found that the VGA is for a G73JH series laptop and that the shell itself says it is a G73SW-A1 laptop...
4 REPLIES 4

Pitcher1
Level 9
i think if you buy from asus estore, it is compatibility.

cl-Albert
US Customer Loyalty Agent
goodwill295 wrote:

On a side note, upon opening my laptop i found that the VGA is for a G73JH series laptop and that the shell itself says it is a G73SW-A1 laptop...

Glad to hear your motherboard replacement went successfully.
Not sure how you are checking the VGA card model, but the G73JH is using the ATI Mobility™ Radeon® HD 5870 while the G73SW has the NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 460M, so if you just check your display adapter in Windows this should help you tell the difference between the 2 models despite whatever is printed on the circuit boards.

Hope this helps!

cl-Albert wrote:
Glad to hear your motherboard replacement went successfully.