Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    244

    RealBench and BF3

    Can pass numerous runs of RB, but cant play BF3 without crash at same speeds, 4400/2133. ???


    Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Probably SLI related that xman....
    Not sure if SLI related. Hit F5 in BIOS and run default settings, all is well. Set mild OC, pass RB all day long, crash in BF2. 4400@1.35v and 2133/9-11-9-27-1@1.65v

    Originally Posted by Zka17 View Post
    That could be because of the graphics... the component(s) not stressed in this version of RB... - what is the exact nature of those crashes? Any BSOD code, Event viewer explanation?

    Blue scrns to game freezing but able to alt-ctrl-del and reboot. 3800/1333 no crash.
    GUTS: Rampage IV Formula (4004) / Intel 3930K / 16GB Dominator Platinum 2400mhz / Corsair NeutronGT 240GB SSD / 2X EVGA GTX680 4GB 2-Way SLI / Corsair AX1200i PSU / Genesis 9000B Case

    WATER: Watercool HeatKiller REV3.0 - CPU / 2X Watercool HeatKiller GPU-X3 - GPUs / 1X XSPC RX240 rad / 1X EK Coolstream 480 rad / XSPC Dual Rez / MCP355 Pumps / DISTILLED WATER + Silver Coil

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,437

    Is that straight multi OCing Xman...no bclk OCing (because as yopu know touch BCLK and you screw with RAM and PCIe frequency)?

    Have you run SLI without a bridge...to eliminate bad bridge......tried a 314.xx series driver instead of the 320.xx ones which seem to give a lot of people headaches (though I must say I have not had a problem on any of them) there is a new beta out 326.41.

    And finally we come to your CPU ...the IMC and PCIe handling are on the same bit of the CPU if I remember right....maybe, given your RAM OC experience and now PCIe not being able to take the strain....you should be first in line for IB-E

    OC your bike for a month mate and then come back with a CPU instead of a lemon in the socket

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    244

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Is that straight multi OCing Xman...no bclk OCing (because as yopu know touch BCLK and you screw with RAM and PCIe frequency)?

    Have you run SLI without a bridge...to eliminate bad bridge......tried a 314.xx series driver instead of the 320.xx ones which seem to give a lot of people headaches (though I must say I have not had a problem on any of them) there is a new beta out 326.41.

    And finally we come to your CPU ...the IMC and PCIe handling are on the same bit of the CPU if I remember right....maybe, given your RAM OC experience and now PCIe not being able to take the strain....you should be first in line for IB-E

    OC your bike for a month mate and then come back with a CPU instead of a lemon in the socket

    Yes Arne, bclk at 100, untouched, and multi at 44. How can I run SLI without bridge? My memory is at a very mild speed, half-assed loose timings, and sufficient voltage. I had the memory at much higher speeds with same or less voltage running and passing RB. No OC on video cards whatsoever.

    Next round of BF3, I will try 125 strap at 2133. Never really could get my mem anywhere at 100, 2240mhz tops. 2395mhz and passing RB using 125 strap. All my good RB scores were at 125 strap and then up.
    GUTS: Rampage IV Formula (4004) / Intel 3930K / 16GB Dominator Platinum 2400mhz / Corsair NeutronGT 240GB SSD / 2X EVGA GTX680 4GB 2-Way SLI / Corsair AX1200i PSU / Genesis 9000B Case

    WATER: Watercool HeatKiller REV3.0 - CPU / 2X Watercool HeatKiller GPU-X3 - GPUs / 1X XSPC RX240 rad / 1X EK Coolstream 480 rad / XSPC Dual Rez / MCP355 Pumps / DISTILLED WATER + Silver Coil

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Actually you can run your SLI without a bridge, the performance will not be as good but it will be in SLi.

    The fact that RB is passed but a graphic intensive game is not certainly points to the issue being a video one, however memory (system that is) is key to how your VGA performs with your system.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    244

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Actually you can run your SLI without a bridge, the performance will not be as good but it will be in SLi.

    The fact that RB is passed but a graphic intensive game is not certainly points to the issue being a video one, however memory (system that is) is key to how your VGA performs with your system.
    I think you are correct with the sys memory theory. I am 99.9% sure my GTX680s are solid. Could it be not enough voltage to dramm for 2133/9-11-9-27-1 at 1.65v? I would think if 2400mhz is spec'd to run at 1.65v, 2133mhz with half-assed timings should be a breeze.

    And also as I stated in 1st post, 680s are at stock speed. No overclock on mem or GPU. I was under the assumption that gaming benefits more so with higher sys mem speed than tighter latencies.

    BF3 runs butter smooth with everything at stock and graphics at Ultra on this system. I was trying to see if it would run with RB stable overclocks. Strange. From what I seen messing with RB to the extent I have, any clocks that pass multiple runs of RB should shred any game. Apparently not.

    Regardless, I still hold RB as one of my tools to establish system stability.

    As far as posting a higher score than the 842, I hoping to post an 850 soon. That I believe, will be the limit,n my 3930K's IMC.
    GUTS: Rampage IV Formula (4004) / Intel 3930K / 16GB Dominator Platinum 2400mhz / Corsair NeutronGT 240GB SSD / 2X EVGA GTX680 4GB 2-Way SLI / Corsair AX1200i PSU / Genesis 9000B Case

    WATER: Watercool HeatKiller REV3.0 - CPU / 2X Watercool HeatKiller GPU-X3 - GPUs / 1X XSPC RX240 rad / 1X EK Coolstream 480 rad / XSPC Dual Rez / MCP355 Pumps / DISTILLED WATER + Silver Coil

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    As HiVizMan said, the the graphics setting rely a lot on the system memory settings when it's about the overall system stability...

    How about trying XMP settings from BIOS, leave the CPU at stocks for now, then test how your graphics is behaving... if it's fine, then start pushing the CPU multi - but still let your voltages on auto...

  7. #7
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,437

    Plus the number of SLI threads with BF3 crashing is legion and may well be driver related....does this happen with any other games stuff like Metro for example which is a stern test.....benchmarks like Unigine Valley...etc.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    Quote Originally Posted by xmanrigger View Post
    And also as I stated in 1st post, 680s are at stock speed. No overclock on mem or GPU. I was under the assumption that gaming benefits more so with higher sys mem speed than tighter latencies.
    This is not true. Both matter and depending on the game engine, its settings and the amount of VRAM available on the video card you may see situations that benefit the latencies more. But in general there is a balance. High latencies can cause frame stuttering or driver timeouts.

    I'll also second Arne's suggestion and test with Metro which is one very heavy beast as the issue may be game (or game+driver) specific that manifests easier on certain settings.
    On a last sidenote you may also have residual effects after messing with BCLK, specially if you were playing with skew settings in order to stabilize an edgy BCLK setting (debug code 01 even after reverting to stock BCLK is such an example). In that case you should drain the board from all power.

    EDIT: Also if a minidump gets created could you post it here so I can take a look in the debugger?
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chrisnyc75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    63
    Posts
    413

    Similar problem here. I can pass RealBench, Cinebench, Heaven, & Valley all day long, but this weekend (when I *finally* had time to sit down and do some actual gaming on my new system) I experienced 2 crashes in the midst of gaming (my gpu's are at stock speed, and my RAM is solid as a rock 8+ hours of memtest86+). Turns out my oc wasn't quite as stable as I thought it was, back to the drawing board.

    Anyway, while I do think RealBench is a valuable tool for verifying initial stability, and is certainly a lot of fun to play with, I'm not so sure I think it holds up against tried-and-true stability benchmarks like IBT, Prime, LINX, etc. It has its place, but I don't think it's the all-in-one stability testing tool some have made it out to be....yet.
    Asus RIVBE • i7 4930K @ 4.7ghz • 8gb Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 CL8
    2xSLI EVGA GTX 770 SC • Creative X-Fi Titanium • 2x 840 SSD + 1TB Seagate Hybrid
    EVGA Supernova 1300W• Asus VG278H & nVidia 3d Vision
    Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/ custom watercooling:
    XSPC Raystorm (cpu & gpu), XSPC Photon 170, Swiftech D5 vario
    Alphacool Monsta 360mm +6x NB e-loop, XT45 360mm +6x Corsair SP120


  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisnyc75 View Post
    Turns out my oc wasn't quite as stable as I thought it was
    OK, so what did you have to do make it stable for those "true stability benchmarks like IBT, Prime, LINX, etc." ?

    Are you aware that those are not stressing the graphics together with the CPU and RAM too?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •