Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    G750JX SSD and HDD query

    Hi,

    I just received my G750JX everything seems great, just have a query re the hard drive partitions. It comes with a 256GB SSD and a 1TB HDD. I'm not to I.T. savvy, so i apologise if my question is a bit stupid.

    It's arrived partitioned as follows:
    C: (OS) 95.3 GB
    D: (Data1) 465 GB
    E: (Data2) 465 GB
    F: (DATA) 121 GB

    I assume that C: and F: are the (partitioned) SSD, while D: and E: are the (partitioned) HDD.

    My query is; can I use Partition Wizard to undo the partitions with no ill effect, ie, or did it come set up this way for a particular reason?

    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    hi @Downtownbrown, i think it's better for you to create backup using this method first, before you make changes to the partitions (which is very likely to change something in the partition tables and eventually cause something to NOT work properly).

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Tomislav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    227

    @Downtownbrown welcome to the forum. You can see in windows 8 which disk is hdd and which is sdd, so no confusion there. Well I don't see why they choose to set the system in that way ( I personally wouldn't do it) but honestly there is nothing wrong with this set up. You can use one SSD partition just for OS, and one for software and maybe a few games, the rest you can use for media and stuff. But if you would like to customize it more to your liking then be sure to listen to rewben. He knows his 0's and 1's if you know what I mean.
    Last edited by Tomislav; 07-10-2013 at 04:34 PM.
    ASUS G75VX
    Win 8, i7-3630QM, 2,4 GHz, GeForce GTX 670MX, 8 GB Ram,120 Gb Samsung 840 SSD+750 Gb HDD

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thanks very much for the advice Rewben and Tomislav.

    I think after what you've said, i'll probably just un-partition the 1TB hdd into one drive (i have about a TB of work data that needs to be on one drive), and leave the SSD as it is.

    Cheers.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    That's a good setting. The reason for the double-partition is to separate your files from Windows, so that if you need to reinstall Windows, you can do so without messing up so many files. Thus, having the SSD in two partitions is fine, but there isn't much point for an all-data HDD.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thanks Zygomorphic, that makes sense. I agree, I could see why they'd do it for the ssd but couldn't see a reason for them doing it for the hdd.
    I ended up deleting the partition of the hdd and happy now the setup works for me.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Downtownbrown View Post
    Thanks Zygomorphic, that makes sense. I agree, I could see why they'd do it for the ssd but couldn't see a reason for them doing it for the hdd.
    I ended up deleting the partition of the hdd and happy now the setup works for me.
    I just got mine a couple of day ago and was wondering the same thing about the partitions. I't a minor pain changing every install to point to the separated SDD partition. I also blew out the HDD partition and made a 1TB one, didn't make sense to have it split out that way.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    True. It is helpful also if you just store your files there. Makes it easier to back certain things up without taking all the Windows stuff too. Also, I use it since I access NTFS partitions from LINUX, and it prevents any potential issues (which I haven't had) from damaging the Windows files. Best partitioning scheme is the simplest one that solves your problems. Anything more complicated is just adding work and potential issues.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •