Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38
  1. #21
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    So if I'm reading this right, you can run it in a Maximus VI Hero with SLI (8x 8x) in the black slot. Sorry, just a simple redneck from Georgia
    Last edited by Maxadore81; 08-31-2013 at 02:04 AM. Reason: more info

  2. #22
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,388

    Yes, it will just disable the x1 slots.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  3. #23
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    Quote Originally Posted by alepodj View Post
    does PCIe x1 version 2.0 makes any difference?
    i was planning to get this but for my M6F mobo but with SLI enabled and all the other ports are PCIe x1 2.0
    even if it works i dont like to spend lots of money for it to work half power, no go
    With SLI enabled it will have to use a PCIe 1x slot, which will limit it to 1x speeds sorry. Unfortunately the M6F doesn't have a dedicated 4x slot.

  4. #24
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,388

    Ok so to sum it up and make this easy and comprehensible:

    Maximus VI Extreme: Can use it with SLI with no issues.
    Maximus VI Hero: Can use it on black x16 slot that you have to set to x4 and in doing so it disables the x1 slots.
    Maximus VI Formula: On SLI configurations it can only use it on a x1 slot. Which will work but also limit the speed of the card.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    327

    Why in the world would u remove the a ability to use this with sli on the new formula vi. You knew the raidr was in the pipeline. Don't get how an older model mb would have more flexibility then an newer one. Formula v is still ftw apparently.

  6. #26
    ROG Member Array E0rz3a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Sigh...i was so hoping to get this for my M6F with SLI. Looks really cool. I guess i can stay with my single 780 for a while. Thanks Asus.
    Project DFTX:
    {i7 4770K, Maximus VI Formula, G.Skill Ripjaws Z Series 16GB, Corsair H80i, Asus GTX780-DC2OC-3GD5, Samsung 840 Pro 128GB & 256GB, WD Caviar Black 2TB, Asus Black BC-12B1ST, Thermaltake TTe Meka G-Unit, Cyborg R.A.T 7, Corsair AX860, Cooler Master HAF 912 Advanced, Windows 8 Pro 64bit, Asus VG248QE, Asus Orion Pro}

  7. #27
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I cant manage to setup this drive. I need some help.. i got it working for the first time, but after some reading i understood that ive installed my OS on a non-UEFI version of the RAIDR express and then went to reinstall my OS with UEFI boot. But i cant boot with the UEFI mode enabled. Ive been reading the install guide for like 2-3 hours now but i cant get anywhere What am i doing wrong?

    My specs:

    ASUS ROG Maximus Extreme
    Core i7 4770K
    Corsair Dominator Platinum
    GTX 780 SLi
    ASUS ROG RAIDR Express 240gb

    Bios version: 0804

  8. #28
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,388

    For UEFI installation, you need to setup your array whil ein legacy mode and then switch to UEFI mode prior to starting Windows installation. For a guide on UEFI Windows installation see the guide in my sig.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  9. #29
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by jsarver View Post
    Why in the world would u remove the a ability to use this with sli on the new formula vi. You knew the raidr was in the pipeline. Don't get how an older model mb would have more flexibility then an newer one. Formula v is still ftw apparently.
    I don't understand why either..I also don't know why they thought so many 1x PCIE2 slots would be desirable. I don't know what they are expecting us to be expanding with.. More USB ports? a couple of x2 slots would have been a lot better..

    Wish I has paid a bit more attention to the spec sheet before impulse buying this board which in my configuration (new formula with SLI) will be at best on par with a SATA SSD with a slight premium in cost.

  10. #30
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    With a Rampage IV Black Edition, it's possible to put 2 GTX 780 DC2OC in SLI and 2 RaidR Express in Raid 0 ?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •