Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    500 GB Samsung 840 Evo, G-Skill Rip Jaws 16 GB Woo Hoo!

    This is my very first SSD, ever! I'm a little anxious and excited to say the least. I've upgraded from 5400 RPM to 7200 RPM before,… As a clean install.
    I've never dealt with cloning software before. I'm going to need a little direction and guidance with this if anybody is willing to help.
    This is what I plan to do in this exact order, please let me know if I'm missing something or if I need to reorder what I do to make it the smoothness transfer possible.

    • Utilize the recovery option that came preinstalled on my G75VX; Reinstall Windows and format option.
    • Update my chipset driver.
    • Update video card driver.
    • Update network card driver.
    • Windows update.
    • Plugging new SSD drive via USB-to-SATA and utilize cloning software.
    • Install SSD into drive bay 1 and move preinstalled 5400 RPM into drive bay 2.
    • Press F2 on reboot changing the boot device to the SSD.
    • Disk management; deleting all volumes on 5400 RPM drive… Then creating a new volume and formatting.
    • Installing new memory sticks. (Do I need to go into the bios to make sure they're running at 1600 MHz, or… Will it automatically boot and load into that speed?).
    • Enjoy my new speed.

    Sounds and looks simple enough, but… I've read a lot of horror stories with people trying to upgrade their hardware.
    Any thoughts, tips, techniques, tricks, feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    Rob

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    85

    You dont need to do anything regarding your RAM upgrade just install them and thats it you can check in the bios just to make sure it is reading the 16gb other than that you dont have much options there.

    Regarding your step by step guid it looks pretty good make sure you do the recovery partition backup just in case.

    Enjoy the speed its going to be awesome!!!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I ran into a problem.
    I reinstalled and formatted.
    When the drive arrived, no "SATA-to-USB" cable. :-(
    Went ahead and installed the extra memory without any problems.

    SSD is sitting in drive bay 1, not recognized by Win 8.1 64bit.

    Installed Samsung Magician.

    Now what?!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,136

    I would install Macrium Reflect and clone with your old drive in Port1 and your new SSD in port 0 no need for a USB adapter
    See this thread for guides and all your options.
    Last edited by Clintlgm; 03-23-2014 at 02:27 PM.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Okay, I was able to clone it semi-successfully. (I say "semi", because I don't know what I'm doing ).
    Here's a screen cap.

    It only copied over 1 recovery partition.
    Do I need the others? In order to go back to the factory settings?!


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	193.7 KB 
ID:	34917

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    hi @KohDuh, first read this carefully (cloning using Macrium Reflect). due to the capacity difference between the stock drive and new ssd, the steps involved shrinking of OS drive (C to a reasonable size before actual cloning was done. (apparently this is you case)

    honestly, please don't get too excite and wipe your stock drive so soon. keep it until everything is fine with the new ssd. (it's always safer to keep the stock drive in its working state for some times until you're comfortable with the new setup)

    imo the best method with a new drive, with minimal hassles, is still a clean install.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I changed the boot option in the bios to ssd as my boot option 1 and deleted hdd boot option 2.

    Theoretically, my laptop "should" be booting from the ssd now, right?!

    I'm more than fairly confident, I did everything "minimally" correct to have a functional laptop...

    I cannot seem to format my hdd - drive C:
    SSD was auto-magically named drive H:
    Both C: and H: have OS

    Ideas?

    rewben - too late - already unallocated spaced what I could. Just won't let me format.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,136

    Well then looks like you'll have to clean install Win 8.1 no point in going with 8 then upgrading. Proceed with the directions in Rewbens thread with only your SSD installed. In your BIOS disable secure boot, and enable CSM. Create a UEFI Bootable installation media with a 8.1 Core ISO. use Rufus to create your USB Install media. Here is a link for how to download an win 8.1 ISO
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •