Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    raid r and 4 way /3 way Crossfire

    hey guys,just bought one! , cant wait till it gets here


    in the meantime, im planning on pairing a MVI E with this raidR.


    any advice on RAIDR placement pci slot wise? i read the guide, but still am unsure.


    is it possible to get this and,say 4 7970s working ?


    Thanks
    .

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deon017 PC Specs
    Deon017 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Extreme Black Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A2133C11 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Poseidon GTX 980Ti
    MonitorAsus Rog Swift 27" 3D Monitor
    Storage #1ASUS RAIDR Express 240GB PCI-E SSD
    Storage #2HDD: Intel 520S 240GB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Elite CPU Waterblock for Intel 2011
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D Super Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G19s Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius
    OS WIN 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200
    Deon017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    147

    depending on your MB - but some boards have the PCI-E 2_1 slots (smaller slots) - they do not interfere with the PCI-E 1_? slots or their bandwidth. I installed my RAIDR on my PCI-E 2_2 slot and it works perfectly - the only negative feedback is that all paperwork for the card itself and the programs associated with it lacks depth -

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deon017 PC Specs
    Deon017 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Extreme Black Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A2133C11 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Poseidon GTX 980Ti
    MonitorAsus Rog Swift 27" 3D Monitor
    Storage #1ASUS RAIDR Express 240GB PCI-E SSD
    Storage #2HDD: Intel 520S 240GB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Elite CPU Waterblock for Intel 2011
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D Super Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G19s Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius
    OS WIN 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200
    Deon017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    147

    just something else - if you are using a ASUS MB and put the RAIDR in slot PCI-E 16_3 or PCI-E 16_4 - check your bios as the slot is on auto setting - auto does not mean that it will run at the inserted cards request - but at X1 to free resources - you have to set the bios to X4 - doing that will speed up the RAIDR by double

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    thanks Deon for the tips , once it gets here ill be able to shed some mroe light,


    im using a maximus vi extreme, has lots and lots of pci-e slots.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array izzyreb02 PC Specs
    izzyreb02 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor9900X
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB DRR4 3200Mhz/F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 2080 OC
    Sound CardSound Blaster AE-5
    MonitorMG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 512 M.2
    Storage #22x 2TB WD HDD (DATA), 6TB WD (Games)
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360mm
    CaseThermaltake View 71 Tempered Glass
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Gold 1200Watt
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U
    izzyreb02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    241

    so if I get one on my rampage iv formula and I already have a sound card in its pci e 1x slot and a graphics card on the 16x slot 1, will I be able to fit it on the middle pci 16x slot between my sound card cause later on I be buying 2x GTX Titans or 780's.. so hopefully it should work, If that makes sense to follow up

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    the guide said you need a pice x2 lane

    "RAIDR Express itself requires at least PCIe x2 to give sufficient bandwidth to the card, so PCIe 1x slots are insufficient."

    dude, why dont you get another 680 ,instead of titans/780s in SLI
    ?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    338

    i have a formula v. im running sli 780's and a creative z sound card in the 1x slot between them. my raidr is on the top pcie 2 slot right under the cpu. everything works just fine and i have no issues with pcie bandwidth.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array izzyreb02 PC Specs
    izzyreb02 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor9900X
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB DRR4 3200Mhz/F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 2080 OC
    Sound CardSound Blaster AE-5
    MonitorMG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 512 M.2
    Storage #22x 2TB WD HDD (DATA), 6TB WD (Games)
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360mm
    CaseThermaltake View 71 Tempered Glass
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Gold 1200Watt
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U
    izzyreb02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    241

    Quote Originally Posted by End-The-Fed View Post
    the guide said you need a pice x2 lane

    "RAIDR Express itself requires at least PCIe x2 to give sufficient bandwidth to the card, so PCIe 1x slots are insufficient."

    dude, why dont you get another 680 ,instead of titans/780s in SLI
    ?
    Cause I might do water cooling one day and finding water blocks might be hard to find, plus to the fact that I proberly want to have an up to date system.

  9. #9
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    Use the PCIe 4x slot near the bottom, but you'll need to WC your graphics cards in order to get this all to fit as there is 'only' a dual-slot gap.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array izzyreb02 PC Specs
    izzyreb02 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor9900X
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB DRR4 3200Mhz/F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 2080 OC
    Sound CardSound Blaster AE-5
    MonitorMG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 512 M.2
    Storage #22x 2TB WD HDD (DATA), 6TB WD (Games)
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360mm
    CaseThermaltake View 71 Tempered Glass
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Gold 1200Watt
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U
    izzyreb02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    241

    Ah I suppose that's a reply for my case if I do water cooling? I am thinking of moving to another case like the Corsair 900D or something to be able to have lots of room and space but Im not too sure if its really necessary to have 3 Raditors or such though.

    My case is the Aerocool Advanced ST case (Black) but I get a funny feeling it might get clogged up in there.

    Thanks MarshallR for the response ^.^
    Last edited by izzyreb02; 08-26-2013 at 05:35 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •