Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Doesn't show in BIOS?

    I installed the PCIe SSD and booted the system, installed the drivers, but it will not show up in Windows Explorer or in BIOS. I have the switch on UEFI (to the right), and it is in a full x16 PCIe slot on my Maximus VI Extreme mobo.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    1. How many GPU/s are you using?
    2. Which slots are you using for your GPU/s?
    3. Which slot are you using for your RAIDR?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    This is a new build, and I don't have any GPU(s) yet. The RAIDR is currently sitting on the PCIe x8 slot (third slot from the top).

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    it will not show in BIOS if you selected UEFI mode, did you check disk management? maybe its just not formatted yet?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    I just checked disk management. It shows up as 111.79GB unallocated drive. I was wanting to transfer everything from my ssd to this. How would I go about doing that? I want to use it for my OS and applications.

    I just wanted to say.. I love how much help one can receive from this forum. I consider myself a noob since this is my first build.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    213

    Quote Originally Posted by saddog5523 View Post
    I just checked disk management.
    It shows up as 111.79GB unallocated drive.
    What size is your RAIDR ?
    ... I thought the 240GB was the only version that was out atm ...
    - M4EZ - 1: 3510 - 2: 1004 / i7-2600K / Redline 2133 16GB / Win7 Pro x64
    - v.3510 / 8.0.0.1351 - v.8.1.0.1263 / 10.8.0.1303 - v.11.2.0.1006
    - RevoDrive3x2 240GB - OS / Vector 256GB x2 RAID0 - OS / Vertex3 MI 120GB - OS / P'9230 3.0 2TB - B/U
    - 9260-8i BBU - CacheCade Pro Vertex3 120GBx2 RAID0 SSD Caching - Const ES SAS RAID10 GHS - Data
    - GTX580 3GB HC2 / Xonar Essence STX / ST1200G / TJ10B-W / ZR30w / SP 2500 2.1
    - Water: Swiftech/Koolance/Tygon/EVGA/MIPS - Wind: SST/Noctua/Cougar

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deon017 PC Specs
    Deon017 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Extreme Black Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A2133C11 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Poseidon GTX 980Ti
    MonitorAsus Rog Swift 27" 3D Monitor
    Storage #1ASUS RAIDR Express 240GB PCI-E SSD
    Storage #2HDD: Intel 520S 240GB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Elite CPU Waterblock for Intel 2011
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D Super Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G19s Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius
    OS WIN 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200
    Deon017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    147

    it is - but you have to create RAID0 in your bios - it will show as 2 x 111GB drives without RAID0 - even if it does not show in your bois because its not SATA it will still show under boot devices -

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I think it is because it uses UEFI mode, I see them in BIOS when I switched to Legacy mode though.
    @saddog why don't you just copy/paste them? LOL or use ghost instead?

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Alright.. So I opened disk manager, and it had the drive listed with the appropriate drive size. It was unallocated, so I formatted it to NTFS on drive letter F. It immediately pulled up the autorun box and it popped up in windows explorer. Yay!!! Too bad it was short lived.. Lol. I restarted and booted into BIOS to see if it would show up, it didn't, so I restarted back into Windows. It wasn't showing up in windows explorer anymore. I checked disk manager and it only showed 111.79GB of the 240GB, and it showed that it was unallocated. At this point I'm scratching my head because I thought I had made some headway. I talked to some IT guys I work with and they told me to try installing an OS onto it, and that it should have it's own raid controller on the board. I installed Windows 7, and it still only shows up as 111.79GB. I can't find the other half. Will someone tell me that I'm making this harder than it should be? I'm taking it to my work tomorrow to let the IT guys mess with it, though I was hoping you all would have a suggestion or two to try.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Hello mate, have you followed the install guide that MarshallR posted?


    It is pretty easy to follow, and he has included a handy FAQ too. One of the things you are going to have to do is set up your RAIDr before you install OS onto it.

    Follow the guide and you should be good.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •