Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Smile Everything works fine now but just yesterday it crashed

    I used the AI Suite to overclock it... it works well for weeks and then suddenly it crashed yesterday. What can I do. I have a i7 2600k... I have a good cooling with it as well [air con room] temps are around 41 degrees only during 50% load I believe as I do word processing and some web surfing or youtube only. why did it crashed? I am also using Vengence memory 1866 ones... and BLCK is at 103.00 or so using the AI suite. Sometimes I do notice it being slightly a little sluggish [using Windows 7 64 bit with SP1] with the Highpoint 602 1.1 BIOS attached to the PCIE x4 slot I think....any suggestion is appreciated. I did a memtest 96 or something and they all passed. Is there a way to overclock it much lower like to 4.1 only instead of 4.4+ghz? How? I do not want to go and do everything manually in the BIOS...

  2. #2
    AntiMatter Guru ROG Array chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    295
    Posts
    6,113

    If this bios features are the same as the V...when you go into bios and choose "OC Tuner"
    the puter will reboot and test as it goes...you can stop it where you want..but
    dont you just love but..?
    but if you get the figures through one of the 'gurus' here... manually is the way to go..
    in my humble..not so techy opinion...Great Luck to ya.

    I have no idea why after 'weeks' it would crash. Could be so many many things.c.

  3. #3
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    309
    Posts
    7,669

    I would not worry unless this becomes a regular issue. Occasionally other things cause Windows to crash that aren't related to hardware. Are you able to run things like LinX and Furmark without crashing?
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    I am running linx now and other things.. I have 4 4x 4gb Vengence 1866 module... I am going to run this for 1-5hrs on each module to see if it is a memory issue just to be sure. I am tying on this pc now. Sometimes when I type it feels a little slow... it takes a while for it to show on screen when typing... I forgot that the BIOS ends with Debug 58

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    309
    Posts
    7,669

    Yes, while you run linx the rest of the system will be slow, or do you mean at idle?
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Yes, while you run linx the rest of the system will be slow, or do you mean at idle?
    Even after running the memtest or linx.... typing sometimes slows the screen display. The memory is new... so I am not sure why it is like this. Are there any so 'called' good and stable memory for this motherboard... working 16gb instead of 8gb... as I run several visualization of Windows 2003 enterprise along with other virtualizations of oracle and SQL server ent. suggestions?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Spathi PC Specs
    Spathi PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IV Gene-Z
    Processori7 2600k
    Memory (part number)16G Sniper F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2 1.25V
    Graphics Card #1Galax GTX 980 V2
    Monitor2x AOC 2795e MVA
    Storage #16x M4 500Gig
    CPU CoolerMini NinJa Passive
    CaseAntec NSK2480B - Black Micro ATX
    Power SupplyAntec EarthWatts EA-380D
    Keyboard SteelKeys 7G
    Headset x-box headset
    OS Windows 7
    Network RouterNF3ADV
    Accessory #1 2x ENERMAX T.B SILENCE
    Accessory #2 CyberPower BRICs LCD 650 VA / 390 Watts UPS

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    392

    People having trouble with Vengence.

    I would not set the bclk to 103, everything expects 100.
    The VCCIO should be within .5 of the DRAM Voltage.. so if you Volt the Memory to 1.65 then you need VCCIO of 1.15. The spec is 1.05+-3%
    I don't think overclocking is worth it anyway.

    The other thing is the Intel Storage Drivers.. if you did not install those you will have pauses maybe.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array 69_Goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    145

    If you list more of your settings, it would be easier to spot a potential problem.

    What speed is your ram running at, and at what volts?
    i7-980X | EVGA 762 Classified | 6GB Dom GT 2000C7 | GTX580 SLI
    i7-2600K | Asus MIVE-Z68 | 4GB Dom GT 2000C8 | GTX580 Martix




  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    BCLK at 100.3 mhz
    CPU Voltage 1.250
    DDR Voltage 1.500
    VCCSA/IO: 1.0500
    CPU PLL 1.8
    PCH 1.06
    CHA Dara 0.5
    CHA CTRL 0.5
    CPU Ratio 38.0

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array 69_Goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    145

    I'll do some testing on my machine tonite and post back here.

    CPU Volts @ 1.25 may be a little low to run at 3.9 GHz.

    I still don't know what speed you are running your ram at.

    Can you post a screen shot of CPU-Z with CPU and Memory tabs?
    i7-980X | EVGA 762 Classified | 6GB Dom GT 2000C7 | GTX580 SLI
    i7-2600K | Asus MIVE-Z68 | 4GB Dom GT 2000C8 | GTX580 Martix




Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fine then, does anyone have settings that are known to work?
    By Jaytheredneck1 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-24-2011, 12:13 PM
  2. Everything works fine now but a question
    By pectin232 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2011, 08:17 PM
  3. Video Driver Crashed? Verde Beta 280.19
    By Captain Bad in forum ROG Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-07-2011, 02:53 AM
  4. Asus Crosshair IV F Sli Works!!!!
    By rolandwally83 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-31-2011, 09:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •