Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    ROG Enthusiast Array

G750JH Display Is Not Bad!

Just got mine yesterday and the display is not as bad as everyone claims it to be. First of all, I've been using a glossy G73JH laptop for the past 3 yrs, so when I got the matte display, I knew I'd need to re-adjust.

It's also true there is a mild grainy look over white backgrounds, but it's not an unnatural ugly look. It's more like "film grain" turned on in a game that makes textures look more natural without a polished gloss. Also, the colors and brightness are even better than my glossy screen when I ran Heaven/3DMark benchmarks.

I'm just deciding whether to keep Splendid when I do my clean install. It was on during my benchmarks and everything seemed nice, so I might decide to keep it, since it has options to change the colors around with diff settings easily.

Oh and the touchpad is 10000x better than my G73JH's broken touchpad I've been dealing with for 3yrs.

I might miss the felt palm wrest going to the aluminum, but the aluminum is much more sharp and cleaner. NO more dust/fingerprints.

ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array

Where did u purchase? In the states? Cost and model number?

ROG Enthusiast Array

Bought from NCIX.com in Canada. G750JH-DB72-CA

However, I spoke too soon. I turned on the laptop this morning before work, and the display doesn't work. I connected to my TV with HDMI and that works fine, so it looks like my display's cable is loose/defective or the entire display itself is toast.

I HATE HATE having to deal with returning a brand new product like this. I do not want to have it repaired either, it's BRAND NEW. Would it be too much to request another one from the retailer where I purchased?

ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array

Hell no. Swap that out!

ROG Junior Member Array MusterBuster's Avatar