Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Dicehunter PC Specs
    Dicehunter PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair Hero VIII X570
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3950X @ 4.20GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro - 32GB - 3600MHz *4x8GB*
    Graphics Card #1AMD 5700XT 8GB @ 2000/1750
    Graphics Card #3Corsair Commander Pro
    Graphics Card #4Corsair RGB Fan LED Hub x 2
    Sound CardFiio K5 Pro
    MonitorAsus ROG XG35VQ Ultrawide 100Hz
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB + WD Heatsink
    Storage #2Western Digital Caviar Black 6TB + 6TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A500 2 x Corsair HDRGB 120mm Fans
    CaseCorsair 680 X - Black + 8 x Corsair HDRGB 120/140mm Fans
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 1000w + Black Cablemod Kit
    Keyboard Asus ROG "Claymore 100%" RGB Cherry MX Blue + Black PBT Double Shot Keycaps
    Mouse Asus ROG Spatha
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro 250 Ohm
    Mouse Pad Asus ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohm
    OS Windows 10 - Professional 64 Bit Edition
    Accessory #1 Audio Technica AT2020XLR + Mic Arm + Shock Mount
    Accessory #2 Corsair ST100 x 2
    Accessory #3 Asus ROG Spotlight
    Dicehunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    351

    Crosshair V Formula 8pin and 4pin ATX ?

    So at the moment i have the standard 24pin ATX plugged in aswell as the 8pin ATX, when is the 4pin ATX needed ? **not talking about the 4pin molex**

    Any info is much appreciated





  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MoreBloodWine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    96

    Not much help but I always go by Tim Taylor more power never hurts rule, just mean that AFAIK there's no harm in having them both plugged in, 4 pin molex included.

    Edit: I did hear somewhere here that the 4pin only applies to certain CPU's but I forget the thread it was in.
    MyU2Sig.com Gen Status: - Total unique user count:


    Sig OK'd by Brian@ASUS.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array EVIL_CONSERVATIVE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    195

    If you have the jacks available from your power supply It wont hurt anything to utilize all of them. Once you get everything up and running you can always shut down pull the plugs to see if youll run stable without the extra current supplies to save on some electric $$ In all reality if youre not running multi GPU's and your processor/memory doesnt need the extra power it will not draw more than is needed anyways (OHM's law) & (WATTS law) so basically plug them all in if your power supply can support it. That way if you later need to install a device that will need it it will already be there. It will allevieate future problems when installing a device and forgetting to add the power factor...

  4. #4
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Quote Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
    So at the moment i have the standard 24pin ATX plugged in aswell as the 8pin ATX, when is the 4pin ATX needed ?
    The extra 4 pin +12V EPS connector will be needed for pushing Bulldozer.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array 69_Goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    145

    The 4-pin ATX plug is provided on PSUs because low-end motherboards sometimes only have a 4-pin plug instead of an 8-pin.
    i7-980X | EVGA 762 Classified | 6GB Dom GT 2000C7 | GTX580 SLI
    i7-2600K | Asus MIVE-Z68 | 4GB Dom GT 2000C8 | GTX580 Martix




  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array EVIL_CONSERVATIVE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    195

    I Just bought the 1100T and got raped on EBAY selling my 970BE If the Bulldozer comes out next week I just might Go Postal !
    LOL

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    132

    What Praz said.

  8. #8
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    712

    I tried using 8 pin and 4 pin and it would not post. The user guide shows using one or the other not both. Page 2-40 shows a diagram using 1. Only the 8 pin in the 8 pin plug in. 2. Using a 4 pin in half of the 8pin plug in. 3. Using 4 pin in the 4 pin plug in. Can some from Asus comferm this or is somthing wrong with my CHV?? Or is it just that my 1090T can't handle it and I'll need to run it that way when BD get installed?? I would love to have the extra power if it is supose to be that way. I sure don't want to kill my hardware if it is not.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    164

    I'm not from Asus, but I can confirm that your board not posting has nothing to do with having had both of those plugged in. I have both the 8 and 4 jacked in without issue.
    Crosshair V Formula 990FX 0506 Bios - Phenom II X6 1100T - Gskill Sniper 1600MHz (4x4GB) - Saphire Radeon 6770 - OCZ Agility 3 60GB - WD Black 1TB - Cooler Master V6GT - Antec Dark Fleet 85 - Antec CP-850 - Windows 7 Ultimate 64

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Cyrekk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    400

    I seem to remember hearing somewhere that the extra EPS jack was just for an extra mainline to the cpu for when it spools up, to avoid a dip in the power draw, like the EZplug connector does for the PCI lanes. I don't have an official confirmation though. The manual is your friend!
    New member? Introduce yourself here, learn a little of what we are about here, and refer to some simple rules here.
    Though typically not required or enforced, here is a list of guidelines on proper forum etiquette.
    [Work in progress]
    The Crosshair GENE will come! - Show your support HERE!
    SYSTEM SPECS

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 3 way SLI on Crosshair IV Formula ?
    By chew* in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-13-2011, 03:00 PM
  2. 8pin and 4pin power for CH V?
    By Cephas in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-27-2011, 08:34 PM
  3. Crosshair V Formula LLC Questions
    By wanescotting in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-08-2011, 08:33 PM
  4. Crosshair IV formula help...
    By Coldplaya in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-21-2011, 07:52 PM
  5. Crosshair V Formula No Boot
    By Krytical in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-14-2011, 08:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •