Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Rippedsoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    44

    Water pump solution for multiple radiators.

    I'm looking for a waterpump solution to pump through 4 graphic card blocks, a cpu block, a 120 radiator, and a 360 radiator. Anyone have any ideas of what brand/models would be reliable for this and have a good lifespan.

    This is my first water-cooled rig and I want to do it right the first time, so price isn't really a factor.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    Hi, first of all CPU block are very restrictive compare to GPU block, since you have 4 GPU , I will make 2 loops, so 2 pumps, speaking of 4 GPU, I don't know which GPU you are using, but with 4 GPU + 1 CPU , you Rad may not be up to the task. I will never put 2 x gtx 580 and a CPU on a rad setup like your's.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Cyrekk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    400

    The Liang D5 is supposed to be pretty much the way to go for almost any loop, and the variable speed one let's you adjust the pump to suit your loop and noise preferences. It is rebranded by most major WC suppliers but the all look like this:

    Dual loop might be a good idea for your setup, as MarkedOne already stated. I would look into setting that up if you can.
    New member? Introduce yourself here, learn a little of what we are about here, and refer to some simple rules here.
    Though typically not required or enforced, here is a list of guidelines on proper forum etiquette.
    [Work in progress]
    The Crosshair GENE will come! - Show your support HERE!
    SYSTEM SPECS

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    132

    The Lang D5 is your best bet if you are only going to use one pump. Danger Den and Koolance make a great reservoir that you can integrate a D5 in to save space, I use the Danger Den monsoon myself.

    Run your GPU blocks in parallel, that will lessen the restriction somewhat, no need to run dual loops as the temperature difference between one or two loops using the same hardware is negligible.

    Depending on what temps you are looking for and which video cards you are using the 120 and 360 rad may not be enough especially if you are overclocking. Just because a part is expensive in watercooling doesnt mean its the best one. It would really help if you listed what case and blocks you plan to use.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Rippedsoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    44

    Sorry I didn't go into very much detail. Here's more info. And thanks for the replies.

    I'm using the koolance CPU block.
    http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...ducts_id=30269

    580 GTX Card/block combo (x4)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130665

    8x Feser/Noiseblocker Triebwerk TK-123 NB-Multiframe® 120mm x 55mm High Speed Fan - 2800 RPM on a push/pull configuration. On both the 120 rad and 360 rad.
    http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...ducts_id=31421

    A Corsair 800D Case
    http://www.corsair.com/cases/obsidia...ries-800d.html

    Case, PSU, and Four Noiseblocker Triebwerk are all I have so far. I'm only spending about $500-$600 a month and a big profit-share bonus coming in October and possiblely my taxes. So these purchases will be done over several month's time. Hopefully I'll have everything by the time the 8170 bulldozer hits the shelves.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    hummmm Triebwerk on a Fezer rad in a 800d , that's tell me something....... ya my son old PC have this with a i5-750 and a single GTX 480, no way you can put 4 x 580 in a triple + single rad

    sorry for the dust, it was before I clean it


  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Rippedsoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    44

    Thanks for the pic and info, MarkedOne. I might have to come up with an external radiator solution. Maybe go into work early and use some shop machinery. If I go that route, I could use whatever sized rads I want for the GPUS and use a Corsair H100 on the top or an H80 on the back for the bulldozer. I guess I have alot of thinking and planning to do yet. But I'm still determined to go 4-way SLI watercooling. 0_o

    I'm still open to any suggestions anyone has on this subject.

  8. #8
    MIA ROG Guru Array
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    1,039

    To be honest I would run a quad rad on gpus. But since your using a 800d I would run two triples on gpus and at least two pumps. And for CPU at least a 240mm or h80 or h100. I have a little experience running 4way 580 and ocing them. I have a quad rad single pump and Koolance 452x2 res. All on Black and Xpander for ocing and gpus were HOT!! So if your gonna OC you'll have beat my quad. FYI
    "I would rather be gaming!" Grunts-clan.com

    http://Pcjunkiemods.com
    http://c2cmods.com

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    132

    To fit all that in an 800D you are going to need to do some serious mod work, especially sine you are staying with the feser tribe fans. Put a 480 in the top, a 120 or 140 in the back, (or externally mount a 360) and a 240 in the bottom after removing the hard drive cage. Hopefully you have a 1500w psu to power all those cards or are you planning to use a gpu psu in the drive bays. Definitely will need two pumps for all that gear to keep a good flow rate.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Rippedsoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    44

    Contemplating buying a cheap $75 2U or 3U rackmount chassis and taking a nibbler and drill press to it to turn it into a radiator case with however many radiators I can fit in it and it's independant PSU. I figure an independant PSU would make maintenence a bit easier. And there would be plenty of room to do two loops into my system if I went that route. And I could still stick with a simple H100 for my processor for it's own loop. Plus it'd give me some practice casemodding without accidently messing up my expensive 800D.

    The 580 GTX cards are already pre-OC'ed for their water blocks. I don't think I'll go beyond those specs or have any reason to. I wouldn't want to loose the already tested stability of them. I do have a dual-purpose for the cards. Both being ready for future and high-res texture modded games, and I'm a folding nutjob. I need to figure out how to catch up to the TheGarage. 0_o

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Error debug code 00: non boot [possible solution]
    By FedericoUY in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-13-2019, 11:10 PM
  2. Are multiple screens for G53 possible ?
    By timciren in forum ROG Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-13-2011, 12:34 AM
  3. multiple power supplies?
    By tripp in forum Case Modding & PC Builds
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-27-2011, 01:58 AM
  4. Intel Sandybridge solution
    By Brian@ASUS in forum Overclocking & Tweaking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-22-2011, 01:14 AM
  5. Intel Sandybridge solution
    By Brian@ASUS in forum Overclocking & Tweaking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-09-2011, 05:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •