Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    116

    Hardware fast boot under the Boot menu...what exactly is that?

    As the topic suggests, what exactly is this option under the Boot menu in UEFI? I have read the manual but the only information is the setting can be enabled or disabled...not that informative...

    I'm using a Formula motherboard.

    TIA,

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    This might help explain it.

    Introduced in Windows 8, the Fast Boot functionality can massively decrease the time it takes a machine to start up from cold - but requires compatible hardware to be fitted into the system. The first requirement is a motherboard with UEFI (Unified Extensible Firmware Interface) BIOS along with a graphics card supporting the Graphics Output Protocol (GOP) UEFI extension.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Basically Fast Boot under a UEFI setup initializes all hardware at the same time(providing you have compatible VGA and Mobo) to boot you into Windows faster. As opposed to the older BIOSes which initializes your hardware one piece at a time and takes longer by doing so.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    116

    OK, so just so I understand this correctly when running Win 7 as in my case I won't have any use for this feature or would I benefit from enabling it also when running Win7?

    Haven't been able to recon any real difference having it enabled/disabled.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    The fast boot option is for Win8
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    116

    OK, thanks!

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Oh wow, I do not know how i overlooked this in the BIOS. Now enabled and booting up faster than I was the day before
    Lana:
    Asus Maximus VI Formula | Intel Core i7 4770K | Corsair H100i
    ASUS GTX 780 DCII | Corsair Vengeance Pro 2x8GB 1866 Mhz | Corsair Air 540
    Samsung 840 Pro | Seagate Barracuda 2TB | Corsair AX760

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Another happy camper, enjoy mate. Glad this thread helped.

    Rep the OP for posting up the thread.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Im still confused with this function. I have been trying to find the difference between Fast boot and Hardware fast boot. I have tried using both at the same time and i get the exact same boot time. around 8-9 Sec cold boot and 3.7 restart using windows 8.1

    Im running a GTX 690 with the "uefi" update

    Can somebody please clarify what Harware fast boot actually does? and if i should have it enabled or not.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Would suggest you have it if you installed your OS via the UEFI method.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •