Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Derp Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    3970x , Quad-SLI 690k , Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400C9, RIVE woes :( - please help

    Hi everyone,

    Motherboard model:ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    UEFI Version :0023 - new beta BIOS updated yesterday
    Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3-2400 CL9 1.65v (CMD16GX3M4A2400C9)
    GPU: Gigabtyte GTX 690 x 2
    SSD/Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB / ASUS DVD/RW 24x
    PSU: Corsair AX1200i
    USB Devices (model/version number): None
    CPU Cooler:Corsair H100i with SP120 Fan kit
    PC CASE: Corsair 600T Graphite White
    Operating system: Microsoft Activated yes/no? Yes - Windows 7 Enterprise x64
    Drivers Installed (include version): 326.80
    Any third Party temp/voltage software installed: AIDA64/CPU-Z/GPU-Z
    System Overclocked (provide details)? Default settings , Gamers OC Profile loaded , X.M.P Selected 45 Core multiplier , 2400Mhz target Ram Speed.


    Issue

    Recently upgraded from Sandy to a lovely lga2011 setup. I have however not been able to get my machine to run Battlefield 3 without it locking up / crashing or stuttering quite badly...

    I am very open to any advice here and will give as much info as I have on hand !
    I've just done a fresh install of Windows thinking it could possibly be the cause of the crashes but alas ... not the case... Sometime the game runs for an hour , other times 30 seconds , with no real error... sometimes hard locks, other times CTD.

    I've tried various configurations of GEN3/GEN2 - using the patch , reverting etc ... still no luck whatsoever. Also tried running a single 690 which seems to remove the ingame stutter , but occasionally still hung. GPU's never exceed 65degc/ Running Stock clocks.

    GPU-Z Always shows my cards running on PCIE 3.0.

    Now the funny thing is that I can run PRIME and AIDA64 stability test without any issues for some time... I do notice my CPU declock under load at times which I guess is normal ? My CPU temps peak high 65 - 70deg/c.

    The exact same hardware ran perfectly on my Z77 Sabertooth with a 3770k @ 4.8Ghz, and some G.SKill ARES 2133 ram...

    So any suggestions welcome ! Thanks in advance !!

    ..........
    Last edited by Wayâ„¢; 09-29-2013 at 09:53 AM. Reason: Template

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array vennacher PC Specs
    vennacher PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage IV Black Edition
    ProcessorCore i7 3970x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB CMZ64GX3M8A1866C9
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX690
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium
    MonitorHP LP3065
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseSilverStone TJ07
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    66

    What do you have your LLC set to? I have 3970, with 2x 690, and 64GB RAM. At 45x multiplier I need voltage under load >1.375. You might try LLC high, or offset +0.60v with LLC regular.

    This will probably increase temps, but needed to increase Vcore since like you I was PRIME stable (and burn test stable) but not game stable.
    MB : Rampage IV BE. - Bios 0801
    CPU : i7 3970x @ 4500 MHz, Offset +0.030v, Regular LLC, Fixed Frequency 750, C1E Enabled, C3/C6/C7 Disabled
    CPU VCCSA: Manual 1.150v, Regular LLC, Fixed Frequency 500
    RAM : Corsair Vengeance @ 1866 MHz - 64GB
    Disks : Raid0 2x Intel 520 480GB; 2x Seagate 2TB
    GFX : EVGA GTX690
    Audio : Creative X-FI Titanium HD
    PSU : Corsair AX1200i
    Optic BD\DVD : Lite-On Blu-Ray; Samsung DVDRW
    Cooler\Case : Corsair H100i v2 2; Silverstone TJ07
    OS : Win10 Pro 64

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Please run your system on stock defaults so we can discard it being an unstable overclock problem. Just for your information, P95 and AIDA means squat. The best test for a stable overclock is daily usage.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    This sounds like a RAM issue. Like Chino said, try stock settings including RAM (don't set XMP) so we can be sure if it's overclocking related or not.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  5. #5
    Derp Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Just a question , does the chip usually clock itself down under load ? Temps are hitting mid 60s and the clock would drop from 4500 to 4200 and sit there ... sometimes it even drops into the 3xxx range e.g. when running prime95 - then when I stop it , jumps back up to 4500.

    I have disabled speedstep and all powersaving - Is the CPU throttling itself somehow ?

    Also - did you guys add extra power to the PCIE slots using the EZ-Plug ? Maybe the cards are drawing too much power ?

    Cheers
    Way
    Last edited by Wayâ„¢; 09-29-2013 at 09:53 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Snakeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    276

    Quote Originally Posted by Wayâ„¢ View Post
    Just a question , does the chip usually clock itself down under load ? Temps are hitting mid 60s and the clock would drop from 4500 to 4200 and sit there ... sometimes it even drops into the 3xxx range e.g. when running prime95 - then when I stop it , jumps back up to 4500.

    I have disabled speedstep and all powersaving - Is the CPU throttling itself somehow ?

    Also - did you guys add extra power to the PCIE slots using the EZ-Plug ? Maybe the cards are drawing too much power ?

    Cheers
    Way
    Sounds like VRM throttling to me. What are your PCH temperatures (AIDA 64)?
    NAME THE SANDWICH: – White Bread, Lots of Baloney, Russian dressing and served with a small pickle.?


    Intel Core i7 8700K @5.1 Stable Delidded
    Asus Maximus X Code

    16 GB
    G skill TridentZ DDR4 ​4266 (PC4 34100)
    Corsair HX1000i digital
    EVGA 1070 GTX TiSuperclocked+
    Samsung NVMe SSD 960 pro M. 2
    Samsung 860 Pro
    Watercooled with EK block radiator fans etc.


  7. #7
    Derp Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Snakeyes View Post
    Sounds like VRM throttling to me. What are your PCH temperatures (AIDA 64)?
    AIDA64 Stability Test:
    PCH Temp 39deg/c
    CPU Package hits 65deg/c
    CPU Cores are all 59 - 67deg/c @ 100% load CPU hitting 1.408v

    Ran it to check now ... sits on 4500mhz for a bit , then dropped to 4100 , and jumps around in 100Mhz increments up and down...

  8. #8
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    There has been a reported issue turbo downclocking on load with the latest UEFI versions..Not sure if 0023 is affected as I have not seen any reports from the people that experienced the issue. If it's not VRM downclocking it could be related to this. Try actively cooling the VRM area with a fan blowing on it. Also are you on Extreme phase setting?
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  9. #9
    Derp Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Nodens View Post
    There has been a reported issue turbo downclocking on load with the latest UEFI versions..Not sure if 0023 is affected as I have not seen any reports from the people that experienced the issue. If it's not VRM downclocking it could be related to this. Try actively cooling the VRM area with a fan blowing on it. Also are you on Extreme phase setting?
    Everything is on Auto as I am using default settings - doing a stock stock stock CPU check now - if it still throttles back , I will try one of the previous UEFI's.

    I have 4 side panel fans blowing cool air straight onto the board / CPU area as well , so not sure if it's the VRMs.

    MY PCH Fan is also not spinning - but that's a setting in the BIOS as I think it triggers at a certain temp.

    Will keep testing thanks.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Since you are not running an IVY-e please go back to the last official supported BIOS. The beta bios are all about Ivy-e
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •