Page 2 of 19 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 186
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array ExcessiveGBH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    67

    Hi Raja

    Thinking about upgrading to the 4960x, and looked at the G skill site for compatible ram. It seems to me that I have to upgrade that as well, as they state in brackets for listed ram (Ivy Bridge-E). So is my current ram not compatible? The issue is having trouble finding a supplier for that ram in Australia.
    Last edited by ExcessiveGBH; 10-21-2013 at 06:57 AM.
    Win 10 64 bit Pro 1903
    Rampage VI Extreme
    BIOS 1902
    I9-7900X @4.7GHz all cores
    EK-KIT G360 (CPU only)
    Samsung 960 PRO NVMe M.2 1TB
    Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVMe 2TB
    3 x 4TB drives
    1 x 2TB drive
    Nvidia 2 x Sli Titans Pascal @2035Mhz
    32GB G Skill Trident Z 3466MHz
    Corsair 1200w psu
    Sound Denon AVC-A1
    Panasonic 65 plasma
    Predator XB321HK

  2. #12
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    The DRAM will work, but might not be fully stable without some tweaking, or you might have to run it a bit slower. I would try that first before you purchase new memory.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array ExcessiveGBH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    67

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    The DRAM will work, but might not be fully stable without some tweaking, or you might have to run it a bit slower. I would try that first before you purchase new memory.
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I have now found a supplier with [RipjawsZ] F3-2666C11Q-16GZHD in stock only. So I feel a bit more comfortable knowing I can grab this if having issues.

    What thermal paste would you recommend?
    Last edited by ExcessiveGBH; 10-22-2013 at 01:17 AM.
    Win 10 64 bit Pro 1903
    Rampage VI Extreme
    BIOS 1902
    I9-7900X @4.7GHz all cores
    EK-KIT G360 (CPU only)
    Samsung 960 PRO NVMe M.2 1TB
    Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVMe 2TB
    3 x 4TB drives
    1 x 2TB drive
    Nvidia 2 x Sli Titans Pascal @2035Mhz
    32GB G Skill Trident Z 3466MHz
    Corsair 1200w psu
    Sound Denon AVC-A1
    Panasonic 65 plasma
    Predator XB321HK

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    69

    Hi Raja -

    Thanks for the info in the OP ...put your guide to good use today on a new 4960X in RIVE with the latest BIOS (4502)...is capable of running strap125 / 166 with DDR3 2666, even touching 5 GHz at still reasonable v-core voltage

    IMPORTANT QUESTION on VCCSA (and by extension VTT). Your guide states: "Overclocking Ivy-E for the masses is centered on two voltages: Vcore and VCCSA (more on VCCSA later)." ..."Speeds over DDR3-2400 may require high levels of VCCSA if high density memory configurations are used. We have used up to 1.40V with 64GB of memory at speeds over DDR3-2400."

    Once past DDR3 2333 and on to 2666, VCCSA will auto-set at about 1.25v to 1.3v on my 4960x / RIVE...with Sandy-W / C2, that was 'no-no' territory, at least according to some posters here and elsewhere...while I may be able to get the VCCSA down a bit manually with further testing at the higher (2333+) memory speeds, is 1.25v to 1.3v 'acceptable' for a system that isn't on 24 / 7 ? Is there a max value beyond which is 'no - go' ?

    Thanks for your help !

  5. #15
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    After a certain point, adding more voltage makes no difference and can make things worse. You just need to find the most effective point when tuning the voltage for the return you're getting in performance (assuming the tuning you're doing is performance related and not just chasing frequency).

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    After a certain point, adding more voltage makes no difference and can make things worse. You just need to find the most effective point when tuning the voltage for the return you're getting in performance (assuming the tuning you're doing is performance related and not just chasing frequency).
    Thanks Raja - ...I have now run DDR3 2666 w/VCCSA and VTT at 1.175v settings, including memory stress testing, CineR15 etc. ...when using 'auto settings', there was just this big jump from 1.105 / 1.1 at DDR3 2333 to 1.25 / 1.3v...I realize why it has to do that on 'auto settings' which have to satisfy the largest possible number of clients.

    A very much related follow-up question. On more than one occasion, I have read that VCCSA (and possibly VTT) should "Always be around 0.3v to 0.4v from vCore'...is that true ? I ask because I'm currently testing the 4960X from 4.833GHz to 5GHz...it seems that my vCore is 'too low' > NOT re crashing etc, but re this '0.3 to 0.4v' rule, if it is indeed that. So if I drop VCCSA / VTT to accommodate working (and lowish) vCore, VCCSA / VTT end up in the 1.12 - 1.14v + - range which is too low for DDR3 2666 (though fine for lower DDR speeds). Ergo: Does this 0.3 to 0.4v rule exist ? Does it mean 'no more' or 'at least' ?

    Once again, THANKS for your knowledge on this...and btw, I did try one of the Rampage IV / BIOS 4502 'Rampage preset memory' settings form Schamino - wow, not only works great but on some things is initially counter-intuitive, yet leads to a 10 point gain on CineR15 at a given CPU / Memory speed...please pas on my 'thanks'

  7. #17
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    The 0.3v rule was centred on SNB-E. Ivy-E may not have the same requirements, or the delta may be different (if it exists). Such things are usually governed by how internal domains are coupled to one another (DC). Experimentation is required to work out if any such voltage delta relationship exists. A crude guideline to work such things out is to see how Intel set the rails up in relationship to one another at stock and work from there - using common sense as voltages are increased.

    -Raja

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    The 0.3v rule was centred on SNB-E. Ivy-E may not have the same requirements, or the delta may be different (if it exists). Such things are usually governed by how internal domains are coupled to one another (DC). Experimentation is required to work out if any such voltage delta relationship exists. A crude guideline to work such things out is to see how Intel set the rails up in relationship to one another at stock and work from there - using common sense as voltages are increased.

    -Raja
    Thanks Raja - ...Intel's 'stock' parameters and their relationships to each other (vCore, VCCSA, VTT etc) are certainly a good starting point...though I don't think that I actually ever ran any chip at stock

    Wondering if s.th. like the embedded pic (source HWBot) re SB-E exists for Ivy-E...have you seen such a data sheet ?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	siHWBOTguideSBE.jpeg 
Views:	164 
Size:	79.6 KB 
ID:	29395

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array xarot PC Specs
    xarot PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL504GM
    MotherboardAsus Rampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB CL16-18-18
    Graphics Card #1Palit RTX2080TI
    Sound CardIntegrated
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO Full Nickel
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Blackstorm Mech RGB
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 310
    Headset Sennheiser HD555
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 x64
    xarot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    181

    I have 4x8 GB Corsair 1866 RAM and when overclocking I cannot even boot with stock 0.95 V VCCSA, for Prime95 stability I had to raise VCCSA to 1.1 V. I have 3-way SLI running @ PCIE 3.0 so this may be the cause? Previously I could run VCCSA as low as 0.95 when I had the same setup but G.Skill 16 GB 1600 RAM. Even then when I tried for 4.5 GHz I got some really weird things going on, like the monitor signal on/off constantly in BIOS screen. Could that also be because lack of VCCSA? When I am running XMP only so I am at 4 GHz on all cores, it works at stock VCCSA (AUTO).

    Currently running 4.5 GHz and aiming for Prime95 27.9 stability, voltages are now 1.375 Vcore (+0.06 V / high LLC), 1.1 VCCSA, 1.125 VTT, 1.825 PLL, internal PLL overvoltage disabled, CPU current capability AUTO. So far 7 hours in and looks good..
    Gaming: i9-7980XE H2O - Rampage VI Extreme - 64 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3200 - Palit RTX2080TI H2O - Phanteks Enthoo Primo - Corsair AX1500i - Intel 750 1.2 TB - Samsung 960 PRO 1 TB
    HTPC: i7-6950X - X99-M WS - 32 GB G.Skill RipjawsV DDR4-2400 - GTX1070 - Bitfenix Pandora - Corsair AX860 - Intel 750 400 GB + Samsung 1 TB 850 EVO
    All around: i7-9900X H2O - Rampage VI Extreme - 64 GB G.Skill 4000 CL18-19-19-39 - Strix RTX2060 - In Win 101C - Samsung 960 EVO 512 GB

  10. #20
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by snowking7 View Post
    Thanks Raja - ...Intel's 'stock' parameters and their relationships to each other (vCore, VCCSA, VTT etc) are certainly a good starting point...though I don't think that I actually ever ran any chip at stock

    Wondering if s.th. like the embedded pic (source HWBot) re SB-E exists for Ivy-E...have you seen such a data sheet ?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	siHWBOTguideSBE.jpeg 
Views:	164 
Size:	79.6 KB 
ID:	29395

    That's taken from Intel white papers - you'll need to surf the Intel site and check. Bear in mind any shown maximums relate to stock operating frequency only - as the max voltage Intel stipulates is based on power consumption. A lot of people don't realize that - the white papers are written for the technically qualified, and are often misconstrued by the unwitting.

    -Raja

Page 2 of 19 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •