Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    ASUS V Formula Crosshair-Z (Club Radeon HD 7870 Problem)

    Hi there, I'm running a Radeon HD 7870 graphics card on my ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z and I have a major problem.

    I cannot see BIOS when I boot the computer.... screen is blank for 40 seconds until I see the Windows 8 screen.

    Its fine once Windows has loaded but before that I can't see anything?

    What do I do?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Hello may I ask what you are using for a monitor? And how are you connecting to your monitor.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I am using x3 Samsung Sync Master 19" with mini display port to VGA converters. And 1 projector using mini display port to HDMI converter

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I have heard Eyefinity 6 Graphics cards don't work with ASUS Crossfire V Formula-Z...

    Does anybody know if this is true?

    Please help, I have just spent a ton on this new computer and can't get the graphics card to work

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I would suggest you use a single monitor to enter bios and set your system OC up. I assume that is what you wish to do in bios. Then once you are sorted connected your monitors.

    Or use a DVI cable to one monitor (prime) to access bios.

    The second question I am not sure what you are asking.


    Here's a list of the GAMING cards that support 6 monitors in Eyefinity:
    5870 2GB Eyefinity 6 (Reference) [6xMiniDP]
    XFX 5970 BLACK 4GB Eyefinity 6 Edition [6xMiniDP]
    PowerColor 6870 2GB Eyefinity 6 Edition [6xMiniDP]
    ASUS EAH6950 DCUII 6950 2GB[4xDP,2xSL-DVI]*
    ASUS EAH6970 DCUII 6970 2GB[4xDP,2xSL-DVI]*
    VisionTek 7870 GHz Edition 2GB Eyefinity 6 Edition [6xMiniDP]
    PowerColor 7870 GHz Edition 2GB Eyefinity 6 Edition [6xMiniDP]
    Club3D 7870 GHz Edition 2GB Eyefinity 6 Edition [6xMiniDP]
    MSI R7970 Lightning BE 7970 GHz Edition 3GB (Has a Boosting Feature, but pretty much just like the Regular Lightning)[4xMiniDP,2xSL-DVI]
    MSI R7970 Lightning 7970 3GB [4xMiniDP,2xSL-DVI]
    MSI R7970 PE 7970 3GB (Stock Clocks Compared to Lightning Above) [4xMiniDP,2xSL-DVI]
    ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5 HD 7970 3GB [4xDP,2xSL-DVI]*
    ASUS HD7970-DC2-3GD5 HD 7970 3GB (Stock Clocks Compared to TOP edition Above) [4xDP,2xSL-DVI]*
    ASUS ROG ARES II 7970 GHz Edition x 2 6GB [4xDP,2xSL-DVI]*
    HIS X 7970 GHz Edition 3GB [1xDL-DVI, 1xHDMI, 4xMiniDP]*
    VisionTek 900614 7750 2GB [6xMiniDP]
    ASUS MATRIX 7970 GHz Edition 3GB [4xDP,2xSL-DVI]*

    Are you suggesting that these cards do not work with the Crosshair boards????
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Im using 2 7970 from ati edition and i cant see one of them maybe they have to work on bios i guess

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    So you can only see one of your two cards.

    That happens fairly often by the way.

    Is the OS you are using the old one that you had before you installed the second card?

    Now what I would do is this.

    Completely remove your video drivers, do the initial uninstall via safe mode and then re-install the video driver.

    Your cards should now be picked up.


    I am assuming that both cards work and have all the PSU connectors and the crossfire bridge is correctly fitted????
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    6 Screen should be no problem on the CHVF-Z, but, having said that...you need 6 screens that meet AMD's requirements on what screens you can use, PLUS you need to use Active DP adapters to make it work. How old are your screens btw? I didn't think any current monitors even bothered with VGA any more for input.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Active DP adapters are a must for more than two monitors indeed.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    The 3 monitors are two years old, the adapters I have used are here

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3308363098...84.m1439.l2649

    I don't think they are active? could this be the problem? I can't get to BIOS at all even with one monitor.

    I have BIOS version 1503, is there a later version?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •