Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array

New to building gaming rig

First off I want to apologize for the lack of any specific part information. I am brand new to attempting to build a PC and do not really know much about the different options out there.

Budget: 1500-2000 US dollars (not including peripherals)
    Main uses of intended build: Gaming (World of tanks, Skyrim, any new PC intensive game coming out, MMOs etc). I do not do video editing/photoshop/rendering tho may want to do live streaming.
    Parts required:
    Previous build information (list details of parts): ASUS ROG laptop. no previous desktop
    Monitor resolution: No monitor yet. Single monitor will be purchased.
    Storage requirements: SSD for OS and probably regular HD for data (optimal from what I read)
    Will you be overclocking: yes/no (delete as required) - Probably
    Any motherboard requirements (no. of USB, Xfire/SLI, fan headers): Nothing specific
    Extra information about desired system:
    Watercool vs Fan (I have multiple cats and will be getting a dog.. lots of hair in apartment. Is water cooling preferable in this situation?)
    AMD/Radeon vs Intel/NVIDIA, I was told for strictly gaming AMD is the way to go but I am a novice.

I am looking to purchase around mid to late December. I want a desktop that can last me atleast 3-4 years of high performance. My current laptop can barely play SC2 (I had to Underclock the card with the gpu tweak so I wouldn't bluescreen from heat and or something else since it wasn't always over 100 degrees.)

ROG Guru: Grand Master Array

Welcome to the ROG forums, Veracis.

If I was looking to build a long term system with your budget, this is what I would get.

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($325.99 @ NCIX US)
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i 77.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler ($94.99 @ Newegg)
    Motherboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($199.99 @ Amazon)