Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    First Build, Ordering Today after feedback!

    Budget: 1500

    Main uses of intended build: Gaming, Video editing, office work, a lot of mulitasking between adobe, autodesk programs, pretty much a bit of everything.

    Parts required:

    1. Thermaltake Chaser Series Chaser MK-I (VN300M1W2N) Black SECC ATX Full Tower Computer Case (Model:VN300M1W2N)

    2. ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

    3. MSI Gaming N760 TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0

    4. CORSAIR HX Series HX850 850W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready

    5. Intel Core i7-4770K Haswell 3.5GHz LGA 1150 84W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics BX80646I74770K (Model:BX80646I74770K)*

    6. G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) Desktop Memory Model F3-2133C9D-16GXH

    7. Western Digital WD Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive (Model:WD1002FAEX)*

    8. G.SKILL FTB-3500C5-D Fans

    9. COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO RR-212E-20PK-R2 Continuous Direct Contact 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler Compatible with latest
    Intel 2011/1366/1155 and AMD FM1/FM2/AM3+

    10N. Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound AS5-3.5G - OEM

    Previous build information (list details of parts): Dell xps 410(bought), taking the 2 disc drives out if they are compatible. Need to check on this.

    Monitor resolution: 1920 x 1080

    Storage requirements: 1TB

    Will you be overclocking: Yes.

    Any motherboard requirements (no. of USB, Xfire/SLI, fan headers): Not Sure

    Extra information about desired system: NA

    I have checked for power consumption and I am unsure what to put in for some thing, but I ended up getting 650W for my result. Do I need anything to go with the HDD since its a bare drive?

    Any help/advice is appreciated!
    Last edited by Jordon; 10-13-2013 at 03:35 PM.

  2. #2
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    you dont need enny thing else on that HDD you added, mabye go for a SSD or 2 down the road to add the OS and games on to. ( personaly i have 1 for OS and 2 for games ( all is 120 gigs each so ) ).
    ssd cables comes whit the mobo, and power whit the psu.
    as long as the old drives are SATA they can fit on the new machine, just be shure you dont hook up the old OS drive so they dont crash on each others.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Alright thanks! I decided that I am going to get a gtx 760 instead, and I am still debating whether to get a Corsair Force Series GT SSD.

  4. #4
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    mines 120 becouse i bought em a few years ago and they was expensive then, if i was gona buy now i would have gone for 256gig ssd's.
    before pushing the button take a peek inside the current pc and see if its ide or sata drives you have.
    if you know what the connections looks like.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Haven't pushed the button just yet... but I will within the next 4 hours, so excited! Ok here is a picture of the dvd and cd drive, I believe its sata because the ide is the white ribbon type connection correct?, and I can see the word sata on it too. If so, then I just realized I can't use the media card read cause its got the big white ribbon going to it. Thanks!

    http://imgur.com/qPXeoP5
    Yea its a bit dusty....

    Edit: alright I am going to order now, and if the cd drives dont work then Ill just order one.
    Last edited by Jordon; 10-13-2013 at 11:02 PM.

  6. #6
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    sata power and hdd cables are flat.
    hdd/ssd cable -> http://i02.i.aliimg.com/img/pb/256/2...r2_4831431.jpg
    power cable -> http://www.image-tmart.com/images/C/...r-Cable-04.gif

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •