Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
  1. #11
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,388

    Take the board out and place it on non conductive surface.
    Take out the CPU and inspect the socket for bent pins (a digital photo of the socket that you can magnify can help with this).
    If there are no bent pins, re-install the CPU and connect only 1 RAM DIMM to the socket furthest from the CPU and the video card.
    Plugin mb and extra 12v headers only (and CPU fan header of course). Nothing else, no case headers no nothing.
    See if it boots this way. If it doesn't, you'll have to RMA the CPU...

    PS I'm beggining to see a trend with too many faulty IB-E CPUs lately..
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    The only thing we have not explored in detail is the PSU. Do you have a spare PSU that you can borrow and use.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #13
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Quote Originally Posted by Nodens View Post
    PS I'm beggining to see a trend with too many faulty IB-E CPUs lately..
    Yep, there have been a rash of threads complaining of similar things....BIOS update to latest with CPU installed and no boot.

    One last ditch attempt would be to take everything apart and leave it unplugged and unpowered over night and then try to put together on the box and boot.

    If no joy I would RMA CPU before I would the board given the threads so far...

  4. #14
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,388

    Indeed. Most of those threads have fixed their issue with a new CPU. I'm guessing an early CPU batch or two were faulty and the chips are still out in the market..
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I had a good couple die on me, one while installing OS at stock.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    11

    I bought the chip at microcenter

    I will pull everything and start over. I do not have another PSU unless I just take one from an old dead HP lying around. What is the risk in that?

    Also, if I have to return the chip... do you think upping to the 4960x is worth the $400? 15mb L3 cache vs 12/4.0Ghz.,... I do NLE and Adobe CC.

    Thansk again.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Not worth the money unless you have heaps of cash that you need to spend.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    11

    Thanks, that was my conclusion too. I was going to put the difference into a better video card (GTX 780).

    I will post back the results after the tear down. Thanks agian for all your help.

  9. #19
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,388

    By NLE I'm assuming Non-Linear Editing? The CPU cache could help with video encoding but it you are using software that utilizes GPU computing (CUDA/OpenCL), like most later versions of applications like Premiere, then you're better off spending that cash on the 780. You'll get better performance out of it for what you do.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    11

    Yes Nodens, you are correct. My CUDA processing is enabled, and the hexacore of the 4930 will be a big help in rendering. Most of my work is web content/3 minute commercials. The 4960 would really only pay me back during the less frequent DVD/BD projects, so I will just have to wait out the longer render times then. The 780's increased bandwidth is more important on a daily basis.

    So I pulled a PSU out of an old HP, and will do a bench build of the core components and see what happens, then post back.

    Thanks to all for their input here.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •