Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Which Voltages are significant factors in RAM Stability?

    so far, I've been noticing that raising VCCSA/VCCIO voltages can sometimes help in stabilizing high RAM overclocks but, it seems to be really hit or miss where it'll help at once instance but, in another instance, it'll do absolutely nothing but raise temperatures of the CPU. If there are any suggestions on which voltages to mess around with, I'd highly appreciate it.

    I'm looking for a 2400MHz stable 24/7 overclock on my Samsung RAM modules but, it seems like it's rather a difficult task. During the first few months of having the motherboard, it held 2400MHz without problems but, at one point my PC had a hard time cold booting; I dropped the overclock to 2133MHz and haven't had problems since but, would like to kick it back up.

    thanks.
    i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz w/ 1.26v (Cooler Master TPC 812)
    Asus Maximus V Extreme
    GTX 670 2GB SLI
    Samsung (MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL11 @ 2400MHz CL10
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    Samsung HD103SJ 1TB HDD
    Cooler Master V700

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Depending on what voltages you were pushing into those sticks and the CPU - the fact that they are now not comfortable at 2400MHz could indicate two things. (well three)

    One the ram it self is no longer able to do those frequencies at the same voltage - ram degradation
    Two the CPU it self is no longer able to do those frequencies at the same voltage - CPU degradation.
    And thirdly, some other setting in bios is impacting on your OC
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Preacher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    107

    I have 1600 memory and all I did to get it to run stable at 1866 was to up the main DRAM voltage from 1.50 to 1.60 and adjust the timings from 9.9.9.24, to 9.10.9.27. You haven't mentioned your timings so I am unsure if you have adjusted them or not. When I ran the memory at 1866 and the original timings, it would fail, but when I adjusted the timings it was stable.
    Intel i7 3770K@ 4.5GHz,
    Silverstone Heligon HE01
    ASUS Maximus V Formula, 1803 BIOS
    16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 @ 1866MHz, 9-10-9-27
    MSI GTX 970
    Samsung 250GB SSD
    Seagate 500GB 7200 RPM HDD
    Antec Earthwatts 650 PSU
    NZXT Phantom 630
    Win 8 Pro x64

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    hmm thanks to both of you for your input.

    sorry i forgot to put some additional details, my timings @ 2400MHz previously were 10-12-12-25 (just used the medium Samsung 2x4GB preset) and used about 1.615v-1.65v for DRAM
    Voltage and going higher or lower from seemed to be very tempermental/finicky, as in, sometimes it loves the extra voltage and sometimes
    it absolutely hates it; in fact, when i lowered the frequency down to 2133MHz with timings of 9-11-11-28, using any DRAM voltage above
    1.60v seems to cause crashes while 1.565v runs completely fine.

    also, i don't think it's my CPU's IMC that's being degraded as when I had hard times cold booting before, it never showed the debug code that pointed to the CPU; i can't recall the code on the top of my head but I believe it was code 55.

    As for right now, I have VCCSA and VCCIO voltages @ stock.
    Last edited by defter; 10-19-2013 at 02:23 PM.
    i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz w/ 1.26v (Cooler Master TPC 812)
    Asus Maximus V Extreme
    GTX 670 2GB SLI
    Samsung (MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL11 @ 2400MHz CL10
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    Samsung HD103SJ 1TB HDD
    Cooler Master V700

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Code 55 is simply the CPU not finding the ram at all. Often that happens with sticks of ram not fitted perfectly or having shifted. Other causes are CPUs that are unevenly tightened and a pin or two may have shifted off a pad.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    damn, think I had this exact issue on a previous Z77X-UD3H where maybe the CPU shifted slightly and caused a single bent pin in the socket.

    i remember i couldn't even boot the PC with the RAM @ 1866 sometimes but, the RAM seems to be working well with 2133MHz on the MVE motherboard.

    do you think it may still be worth it to remove the CPU and check the socket for bent pins?
    i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz w/ 1.26v (Cooler Master TPC 812)
    Asus Maximus V Extreme
    GTX 670 2GB SLI
    Samsung (MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL11 @ 2400MHz CL10
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    Samsung HD103SJ 1TB HDD
    Cooler Master V700

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    You have nothing to loose.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    time , i tend to get very OCDish when it comes to putting the pieces together T_T

    alright, will have to set up a time when i can check it out, thanks

    however, which voltage would you recommend to raise first? such as VCCSA/VCCIO/VTT?
    i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz w/ 1.26v (Cooler Master TPC 812)
    Asus Maximus V Extreme
    GTX 670 2GB SLI
    Samsung (MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL11 @ 2400MHz CL10
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    Samsung HD103SJ 1TB HDD
    Cooler Master V700

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Honestly the only voltages that you really need to much around with when OC with the V Extreme and the VI Extreme are the vcore and the dram voltage. 99% of the time you can safely leave the others on AUTO.

    Now samsung chips are no exception to that. What you could do is explore the memory presets in the dram timing section that Shamino and Raja put together for us. They are really good you know.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    i've been using the medium timing preset for 2x4GB samsung for 2400MHz, guess i could try loosening em up and see if that yields any luck.

    thanks again ^^
    i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz w/ 1.26v (Cooler Master TPC 812)
    Asus Maximus V Extreme
    GTX 670 2GB SLI
    Samsung (MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL11 @ 2400MHz CL10
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
    Samsung HD103SJ 1TB HDD
    Cooler Master V700

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •