Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Help on New PC Build Please... Power Supply Unit Concerns...

    A pleasant day to you all!

    How do you do? I hope everyone is having a great day so far!

    I would like to ask for your help and opinion with regards to my PC Build. Currently I have the following computer specifications:

    Processor: AMD FX-8350 Vishera - (Stock Clock)
    Motherboard: ASRock 990FX Extreme9
    CPU Heatsink: ZALMAN CNPS12X 120mm Long Life Bearing High Performance Triple Fan CPU Cooler
    Memory: AMD Radeon Gamer Series DDR3 PC-2133 32GB (4 x 8GB) - (Stock Clock)
    SSD: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X2 240GB
    HDD: 4 x Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" (RAID-0 Mode)
    2 x Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5"
    DVD Burner: ASUS DVD Burner Black SATA Model DRW-24B3ST/BLK/G/AS
    Fan Controller: NZXT Sentry-2 5.25" Touch Screen Fan Controller
    Wireless Card: ASUS PCE-N53 Dual-Band Wireless-N600 PCIe Adapter
    Graphics Card: SAPPHIRE Vapor-X 100351VXSR Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
    Power Supply Unit: Thermaltake Toughpower Grand TPG-1200M 1200W 80 PLUS GOLD

    My main purpose for my PC desktop is to use Crossfire/SLI. I ordered two graphics card before but they were too thick to put all of my PCIe cards so I returned one of them. I'm now aligned to buy GeForce Cards for PhysX and other stuff that NVIDIA offers.

    I would like to know if my PSU will be able to handle GeForce GTX 780 2-Way SLI. So far I've used three Online Power Supply Calculators and two of them tells me that it'll be more than enough. But I was thinking of the Zotac GeForce GTX 780 AMP! Edition for my SLI configuration.

    Do anyone here think that my PSU will suffice? Hoping for anyone's and everyone's comments/suggestions/opinions. Thank you very much and may you all have a very nice day ahead!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    You will be fine with that PSU no worries.

    You do know that AsRock is not ASUS right?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Thank you very much for your quick response HiVizMan, and I humbly apologize for posting this thread here.

    Yes, I'm fully aware that AsRock is not ASUS. I'm sorry to ask my concerns about my PC Build here when I haven't even bought any ASUS parts for it. It won't happen again, I promise.

    Nevertheless, thank you very much for answering my inquiry!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    No no you post any questions you have mate, you are a ROG member for two years now - I just asked the question because many people think they are one and the same. True the buildings are right next door to each other in TW. And if it is raining you can go from ASUS side to Asrock side without getting wet.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    No no you post any questions you have mate, you are a ROG member for two years now - I just asked the question because many people think they are one and the same. True the buildings are right next door to each other in TW. And if it is raining you can go from ASUS side to Asrock side without getting wet.
    Wow! I didn't have any idea that they're right next door to each other. So that's the reason behind the confusion, it never even came to my mind. LOL

    Well, thank you very much for that info HiVizMan!

    Though if I may, would I be allowed to ask for an opinion with regards to a monitor that I want to buy (specifically ASUS VG248QE) on this thread of mine, even if it's title is mainly about my Power Supply Unit?

    I'm curious about the newly announced NVIDIA G-Sync. I'm planning to buy this monitor, but since that technology hasn't come out yet, any ideas if it would be easy for me to implement NVIDIA G-Sync when it comes out?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array abvolt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,131

    Awesome sounding build your doing.
    Current: MSI Xpower Gaming Titanium | 7700K | G Skill Ripjaws V 3000 16Gb | 960 EVO 500Gb | Intel 730 480Gb | Seasonic 1000 Platinum |
    NZXT X62 | Acer XB270HU | EVGA 1080 ti FTW3

    Secondary: R4BE | 4930K | G.SKILL 2400 16GB | Corsair AX 1500i
    Intel 730 240GB + 480GB | EVGA GTX780 ti sli kpe | Custom H20

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    That monitor is great by the way, I have the 27inch version.

    G-sync is hardware and will be built into monitors it is not something that you can download or implement. It is a physical component that will be included in the build of certain monitors.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Sorry for the late reply, been busy for the past Halloween and other stuff.

    Quote Originally Posted by abvolt View Post
    Awesome sounding build your doing.
    Thank you very much abvolt! This is my first build and I wanted it to be the best one that I can make, though without any water cooling because that's kinda way out of my league for now.

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    That monitor is great by the way, I have the 27inch version.

    G-sync is hardware and will be built into monitors it is not something that you can download or implement. It is a physical component that will be included in the build of certain monitors.
    I do remember that NVIDIA mentioned it's a hardware component that they'll install on monitors, but I also read from "http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/introducing-nvidia-g-sync-revolutionary-ultra-smooth-stutter-free-gaming" that the G-Sync Component Kit will eventually be available for people who are interested in upgrading/modding their ASUS VG248QE. Though, for my current level, I'm not sure if I'll be able to customize my incoming ASUS VG248QE. LOL!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •