Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Quote Originally Posted by RKPReid View Post
    I haven't formatted the computer at all; so it "should" work. But thus far has not.

    I've removed the CMOS battery and it still boots every time and asks for the BIOS password. I'm perplexed.

    I'll let it sit overnight and see what happens.


    I have the same model, and it works for me!
    The ctrl+home+power is the Asus Official BIOS Recovery procedure.
    My guess, it's password/anti-thief protection that's in place preventing this.

    PS: All power from your G75 must be removed (battery, power cable,) then remove the CMOS battery.
    Now once that's all done hold power button for 10-15 seconds, and leave for 10 minutes then you can replace CMOS battery.
    That should do the trick!


    Last edited by GottiBoi55; 10-27-2013 at 01:45 AM.
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Referencing this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otysJ5C9foI

    Skip to 4 minutes in.

    The yellow CR2032 in the middle of the motherboard is the CMOS/BIOS battery correct?

    I've removed this; held down the power button for 30+ seconds (with the battery and CMOS battery removed), then plugged in power and still had the BIOS password screen.

    I do not know what to do.
    Last edited by RKPReid; 10-27-2013 at 05:23 PM.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Now you said when trying to change, or remove the password you hit enter on a "BLANK" password field for the Administrative password and left it "blank" and didn't enter a new password right?
    Well I was thinking, and I think you didn't correctly do this procedure!

    Now what you need to do, instead of leaving the first field "blank" enter your old password and hit enter.
    (that's where it went wrong!)
    On the screen that says "enter new password" and "Confirm password" screen now these fields you leave "BLANK" then hit enter!
    (Leaving the new password, and confirm screen blank is what "removes" your password)
    Now you should see under Admin. password "NOT INSTALLED"!
    Now hit F10 save and exit.
    (The key is, leave all screens blank after you enter your old password, and that will remove the password)

    PS: I had to read over you first post to realize what you was doing wrong!
    Last edited by GottiBoi55; 10-27-2013 at 06:59 PM.
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I can't even get into the BIOS, I hit the BIOS password screen and the old Admin password doesn't work. I'm not sure why it changed anyway, I know I did it wrong when trying to change it but I can't figure out why the BIOS wont clear without power/CMOS battery.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Did you try a new password when trying to remove old?
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Quote Originally Posted by RKPReid View Post
    I can't even get into the BIOS, I hit the BIOS password screen and the old Admin password doesn't work. I'm not sure why it changed anyway, I know I did it wrong when trying to change it but I can't figure out why the BIOS wont clear without power/CMOS battery.

    I think you only hope would be to RMA, but i think you may need to show proof of ownership (not sure)

    PS: Dude your story is not making sense, how did you get into the BIOS when you was trying to change password via "Load Optimized Defaults"?


    PPS: I think it won't clear is "Anti-thief" protection. (not sure, but my guess)
    Last edited by GottiBoi55; 10-27-2013 at 09:07 PM.
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Ok from the top:

    Broke the screen, wanted to send it in for RMA.

    Decided I wanted to remove all personal info.

    Started with the BIOS Admin password, went into bios (after logging in with password)

    Selected the change admin field, typed in valid password, asks for new password, hit enter, error says not valid. I hit escape or something, then discard/don't save and exit from bios, computer restarts, asks for BIOS password, doesn't like my input.

    Try ez-flash doesn't work.

    Try removing CMOS battery doesn't work.

    Does that make more sense?
    Last edited by RKPReid; 10-27-2013 at 09:57 PM.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Remove your files from the OS, then RMA and let service center fix!
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •