Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    OC panel fan maximum AMPs?

    Hello, I have MAXIMUS VI EXTREME MB. It came with OC PANEL.

    The OC panel has 4x "4pin FAN connections", and am interested if i can connect WATER COOLING PUMP to it?

    My PUMP is rated as 3AMPs at 12VOLT

    My PSU can handle this PUMP without any problem, but not sure about the panel.




    I called the Asus support, but they had no idea.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I would not. The panel does draw its current from a sata power connector true but still I would not use it. I do not know by the way either.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    That is why am i asking.
    I do not want to try and find out.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    When in doubt don't do it mate.


    Will try and ask one of the boys in white coast what the amps are.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    have any info

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Array TL@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    90

    the OCP kick in after over 3A for each group of fan headers, FAN1 + FAN2, FAN3 + FAN4
    it requires rework but will void your warranty.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    i had trouble understanding your comment can you please explain what do you mean?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Array TL@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    90

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20131107_193741.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	141.7 KB 
ID:	29401
    If u need more than 3A and below 6A, use FAN2 and FAN3, leave FAN1 and FAN4 unpopulated

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    today i RMA-ed board to store, because of USB problems. As soon as am going to get new MB am going to connect my pump to OC panel, and fans from water cooling to MB. This way I will be able to control pump manually and fans will be managed automatically.

    thank you for your valuable information.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •