Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    320

    Cool My new Asus G750JX

    Hi,
    got the lappy with the 3D screen which is superb. almost max everything on the current games, metro last light and far cry 3. i got the 250ssd+1tb spinner version intending to replace them with my 2x500 ssd's.
    tried to remove the crapware which went well for about 15mins. then i tried to delete McAfee. it partially uninstalled, then i download the 'McAfee Unstaller' from their site. on reboot it was a non-starter. so i tried the F9 recovery trick. some message about 'cannot recover from this image'. i backed up all the partitions of the ssd and tried to reinstall win 8 from an iso from the office (i work in IT) it installed ok but i still cannnot get it to accept the bios product key (i extracted it from the bios). i think it was win 8 64bit base version but it wasnt running long enough to check

    i have replaced both the disks with crucial m4 500gb ssd's from my old laptop and the performance is fantastic.
    they are on MBR as i multiboot many os's with BootIT.
    i have win 8 base (still not activated), win 8 pro (on corp license), 2 x win 7 64bit, win xp 32bit, server 2003 32bit (both waiting for real graphics drivers, er, anyone...).
    ubuntu 13.04 (rancid rodent?) installed ok but wouldnt restart until i manually reloaded and set up grub. unix anything always involves much typing in a terminal so i wasnt surprised. its running nice now. wifi & ethernet worked oob
    bottom line is, after a poor start, all is well now.
    oh, just waiting for some free time to have another go at os x mavericks... (can i mention that here?)

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Peoples Peoples,

    I need some serious help!

    I know i should be able to play 3D movies or games via 3d HDTV right? My previous laptop also suggested it was able to do that (G60 series) But never got it to work? Past sunday i wanted to give it another try at a mates place as he has 3d.... Now we plugged in cable etc.... But for some reason we can never get this to work decent..... its never been decent and i have never seen any decent...... Kinda pisses me off :s

    So PLEASE HELP BLAP X Out!!

    What do i need, do i need special software? Anything? Show me how u ave set up your 3d Stuff if its game or movie, i NEED to know!!
    Screenshots and all would be apreciated

    Best Regards Blap X

    BTW, i dont have a 3D Screen built in my laptop, but want to output to Samsung Smart TV 3D with gogless... Help

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    325

    Quote Originally Posted by gazzacbr View Post
    Hi,
    oh, just waiting for some free time to have another go at os x mavericks... (can i mention that here?)
    The problem with OS X is that you're unlikely to find a working kext for the GTX 770M, seeing as no official mac has the card. If you do manage to hack it somehow, by all means share over here. And running with a vesa driver only is.... ugh.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    320

    @villiansv: yes, i was hoping that the community will come up with somethig for the graphics using 6xxM kexts.
    apple is well known for charging next years prices for last years hardware

    @BlapX: "i dont have a 3D Screen built in my laptop" i think you fell at the first

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Flea0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    211

    Blapx not all cable connections are able to transmit a 120 Hz signal, are you using the thunderbolt port?
    ASUS G750JX -- i7-4700 - 16GB - 128GB 840 PRO SSD + 1TB HDD - Nvidia GTX 770M - 120Hz 3D glossy display

  6. #6
    ASUS Reseller Array Shawnnepc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    128
    Posts
    886

    Quote Originally Posted by BlapX View Post
    Peoples Peoples,

    I need some serious help!

    I know i should be able to play 3D movies or games via 3d HDTV right? My previous laptop also suggested it was able to do that (G60 series) But never got it to work? Past sunday i wanted to give it another try at a mates place as he has 3d.... Now we plugged in cable etc.... But for some reason we can never get this to work decent..... its never been decent and i have never seen any decent...... Kinda pisses me off :s

    So PLEASE HELP BLAP X Out!!

    What do i need, do i need special software? Anything? Show me how u ave set up your 3d Stuff if its game or movie, i NEED to know!!
    Screenshots and all would be apreciated

    Best Regards Blap X

    BTW, i dont have a 3D Screen built in my laptop, but want to output to Samsung Smart TV 3D with gogless... Help
    You'll need to use 3DTV Play

    http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-play-overview.html

    Here's a 14-day trial to test: http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-play-14day-trial.html

    Also note that 3D TV Play is limited to 720p
    USA ASUS Reseller
    http://www.neteffectspc.com

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Thanks for the replies peoples.. hmm 14 day trail lol.. Cmon Nvidia

    And BTW did anybody notice the new 3D options when u have a smart tv connected? Yesterday evening i did see it, and now i am not connected and its gone... But it had allot of options and a set-up to 3D settings. Anybody can confirm this? Noticed this came with the latest Nvidia drivers (thats my guess)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •