Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Red Jhon View Post
    We talk about IVY-E because we have a CPU IVY-E, these new bios should ensure good support, it is normal that the attention is pointed more about these cpu. When I had the 3960x I stopped at the bios 4102 which I think is the most stable overall.

    I hope they fix soon.
    @Red Jhon - nice system Not a million miles off mine!

    Unfortunately I originally left the 4102 bios due to an issue I had with that one and Speedstep not working properly:

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...downclocking-(

    But sure, I get that this issue will mostly affect newer IVY-E users. Just thought I'd point out to Asus reps or whoever monitors these forums that it's not just IVY-E affected.

    As my machine is store bought I've let them know in the hope that they can raise the issue with Asus directly.
    CPU: Intel 3960X - Watercooled @ 4.6ghz
    Motherboard: Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme
    Memory: 16GB 4x4GB GT Dominator @ 2133mhz
    Storage: 120GB Corsair Force SSD; 120GB Kingston Hyper 3K SSD; 2 x 512GB Crucial M4 SSD's & 1TB WD CAVIAR BLACK
    Graphics Card(s): 2 x EVGA Hydrocopper 780GTX - Watercooled (SLI)
    Sound: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra
    PSU: CAIR 1000W CMPSU-1000HXUK
    Case: CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 800D
    Operating System: Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
    Monitor(s): Asus VG278HE @ 144hz

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Red Jhon PC Specs
    Red Jhon PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 2101
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorAOC G2460PG
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256Gb - Raid 0 / VelociRaptor 500Gb - Raid 0
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3 Ultimate
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplySilverstone ST1500
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 - 1703
    Accessory #1 2 VelociRaptor 150Gb
    Accessory #2 Pioneer BDR-209D
    Accessory #3 Yamaha YHT-4930 Kit Home Cinema 5.1
    Red Jhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    220

    Thank you for your appreciation of the system.

    Not understood your post, what is your problem? The cpu does not return to 1.2 when not working?

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Hi Red Jhon.

    I assume that you are referring to my earlier issue that I linked to in my previous post?

    Yeah, basically it was just running at 4.6ghz constantly whether I enabled Speedstep or not. I did try running the different profiles as suggested by one poster as I normally do run a high performance variant of the windows power management profiles but that didn't make a difference. I was not using Asus AI suite so that didn't apply.

    In then end I had an issue with one of my GTX 780's and it went back to the place I bought it to be replaced. At the same time they updated the BIOS which seemed to fix the issue.....albeit I now notice that it is not fully overclocking during 3D applications.

    The place I bought it from is a major retailer in the UK and they have asked for a link to this thread and should hopefully be looking into it and / or querying it with Asus.

    For the time being I'm happy leaving it on this BIOS version and just running it flatout since I only really game or benchmark on this system and it has a fully watercooled custom built loop so temps are not an issue.

    Here's hoping that Asus get a fix out quickly for it
    CPU: Intel 3960X - Watercooled @ 4.6ghz
    Motherboard: Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme
    Memory: 16GB 4x4GB GT Dominator @ 2133mhz
    Storage: 120GB Corsair Force SSD; 120GB Kingston Hyper 3K SSD; 2 x 512GB Crucial M4 SSD's & 1TB WD CAVIAR BLACK
    Graphics Card(s): 2 x EVGA Hydrocopper 780GTX - Watercooled (SLI)
    Sound: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra
    PSU: CAIR 1000W CMPSU-1000HXUK
    Case: CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 800D
    Operating System: Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
    Monitor(s): Asus VG278HE @ 144hz

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Red Jhon PC Specs
    Red Jhon PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 2101
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorAOC G2460PG
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256Gb - Raid 0 / VelociRaptor 500Gb - Raid 0
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3 Ultimate
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplySilverstone ST1500
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 - 1703
    Accessory #1 2 VelociRaptor 150Gb
    Accessory #2 Pioneer BDR-209D
    Accessory #3 Yamaha YHT-4930 Kit Home Cinema 5.1
    Red Jhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    220

    Hello Dear,
    I read your thread ... it is strange your problem ...
    The SpeedStep usually works, or rather lowers the frequency of the CPU when the profile is selected Windows power on "Balanced". If it does not work so I do not know what that might be.

    Have you tried also disable C-States .. I always keep them turned off and the frequency drops to 1.2 without any problems.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Red Jhon PC Specs
    Red Jhon PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 2101
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorAOC G2460PG
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256Gb - Raid 0 / VelociRaptor 500Gb - Raid 0
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3 Ultimate
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplySilverstone ST1500
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 - 1703
    Accessory #1 2 VelociRaptor 150Gb
    Accessory #2 Pioneer BDR-209D
    Accessory #3 Yamaha YHT-4930 Kit Home Cinema 5.1
    Red Jhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    220

    Quote Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post
    It's better to stay with the 0024 (of Shamino) with IB-E, then
    I have tested this bios and have bugs just like the others ... If you are active SpeedStep and launches Unigine the frequency remains at 3.6

    Is it perhaps best in overclock? Requires less voltage?

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Red Jhon View Post
    Hello Dear,
    I read your thread ... it is strange your problem ...
    The SpeedStep usually works, or rather lowers the frequency of the CPU when the profile is selected Windows power on "Balanced". If it does not work so I do not know what that might be.

    Have you tried also disable C-States .. I always keep them turned off and the frequency drops to 1.2 without any problems.
    I do tend to keep C-States off and I know they are currently disabled. Not too sure if I was running them on or off on the 4102 BIOS as I wasn't on it for very long. I'm sure I remember turning them on at one point to see if that made any difference so I imagine they were off normally. I may not have tested using a balanced profile and with C-states off - can't remember exactly what I tried as shortly after going to 4102 I had to send the PC back to be fixed.

    I was on 0901 before that and that worked fine. I only changed as I was having gfx issues and was recommended that a later BIOS might be more compatible with the GK110 cards. As it turned out to be a faulty card I probably could have stayed with it!

    If I have any further issues with this BIOS then I'll try going back to 4102 and re-checking all my settings and using a balanced profile.

    Thanks for your advice though - definitely something for me to look into if I do want to downgrade. However hopefully Asus will bring out a new version that fixes this issue and I can go to that one. For the time being assuming no further issues I'll just keep it at 4.6ghz with Speedstep disabled.
    CPU: Intel 3960X - Watercooled @ 4.6ghz
    Motherboard: Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme
    Memory: 16GB 4x4GB GT Dominator @ 2133mhz
    Storage: 120GB Corsair Force SSD; 120GB Kingston Hyper 3K SSD; 2 x 512GB Crucial M4 SSD's & 1TB WD CAVIAR BLACK
    Graphics Card(s): 2 x EVGA Hydrocopper 780GTX - Watercooled (SLI)
    Sound: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra
    PSU: CAIR 1000W CMPSU-1000HXUK
    Case: CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 800D
    Operating System: Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
    Monitor(s): Asus VG278HE @ 144hz

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Red Jhon PC Specs
    Red Jhon PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 2101
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorAOC G2460PG
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256Gb - Raid 0 / VelociRaptor 500Gb - Raid 0
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3 Ultimate
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplySilverstone ST1500
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 - 1703
    Accessory #1 2 VelociRaptor 150Gb
    Accessory #2 Pioneer BDR-209D
    Accessory #3 Yamaha YHT-4930 Kit Home Cinema 5.1
    Red Jhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    220

    Have you run correctly the conversion process between bios .rom and bios .cap? You've updated your FW MEI? Could this be the problem.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Red Jhon View Post
    Have you run correctly the conversion process between bios .rom and bios .cap? You've updated your FW MEI? Could this be the problem.
    Yeah, I followed the procedure on the Asus website to convert .rom to .cap. It all went through fine. Converted from 0901.rom to 2105.cap. Then from that to 4102. I assume that would be fine. I used the bios converter from the Rampage 4 support webpage.

    Also my PC has been back to the specialist place I bought it and I'm sure if there was an issue they would have fixed it.

    Just re-benched my system on 3dMark Firestrike and got 17,517 on stock bios for the GTX 780's. Quite happy with the system for the time being. Seems to be running quite happily at 4.6ghz when benching now.

    I'll be interested to see if other people on these later bios version have the same problem or if some are running fine. Hopefully they'll post their salient BIOS details if they are running ok.
    CPU: Intel 3960X - Watercooled @ 4.6ghz
    Motherboard: Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme
    Memory: 16GB 4x4GB GT Dominator @ 2133mhz
    Storage: 120GB Corsair Force SSD; 120GB Kingston Hyper 3K SSD; 2 x 512GB Crucial M4 SSD's & 1TB WD CAVIAR BLACK
    Graphics Card(s): 2 x EVGA Hydrocopper 780GTX - Watercooled (SLI)
    Sound: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra
    PSU: CAIR 1000W CMPSU-1000HXUK
    Case: CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 800D
    Operating System: Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
    Monitor(s): Asus VG278HE @ 144hz

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FireRx PC Specs
    FireRx PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900 X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD32GX4MA2800c16
    Graphics Card #1EGVA RTX 2080ti
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorLG 34" curved
    Storage #1Samsung 960 M2 SSD 1 terabyte
    Storage #2Samsumg 850 PRO SSD 1Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseLian Li VS2000
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1200 modular
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset Powerbeats Pro
    Mouse Pad Xtrac Ripper XL
    Headset/Speakers logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro 19037
    Network RouterNetGear
    Accessory #1 Logitech G940 FLight gear
    FireRx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    713

    nope, same issue here, and changing it back to Bios 0024 don't fix it either. I'm beginning to think it's something to do with Windows.
    Intel Core i9 7900X @4.7ghz @1.162v
    Asus Rampage VI Extreme [bios 2002]
    LG (34U97-s) Monitor 3440 x1440
    Nvidia RTX 2080ti
    Windows 10 Pro
    32gbz Memory

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Comunist Array Dartmaul PC Specs
    Dartmaul PC Specs
    MotherboardRIVE
    Processor4930k
    Memory (part number)F3-19200CL9Q-16GBZMD \ F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS
    Graphics Card #1R9 290X
    Graphics Card #2R9 290X
    Sound CardXonar DX
    MonitorDell U2913WM + 3 x Asus VW225N (Eyefinity)
    Storage #12 x Samsung 850 Pro 512GB (RAID0)
    Storage #24 x Seagate ST1000DM003 (RAID0)
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU-370SI LGA2011
    CaseLD PC-V4 Black
    Power SupplyOCZ ZX 1250W
    Keyboard Logitech G11, G13, G710, Steelseries 6Gv2, Func KB-460 (red)
    Mouse Roccat Kone, Kone XTD, Kone XTD Optical, Func MS-3
    Headset Roccat Kave, Func HS-260
    Mouse Pad Steelseries SX. Roccat Raivo, Siru, Apuri, Func F-10L, 1030XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win 7/8.1/10
    Network RouterTP-Link N600
    Dartmaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    67
    Posts
    836

    Regarding to initial Red Jhon's post:

    I use 4930k for 2 months now, and tested every single RIVE BIOS with Ivy-E support (including 0020-0024)

    I cannot confirm freq bug. A also use 4.6GHz overclock with offset vcore voltage and I actually have my CPU running this freq as long as any CPU load exists.

    About memory Rampage tweaker mode - yes, it's still buggy, i have to leave it on auto for now.

    About OC requires more vcore on latest BIOSes - can't confirm that. I made some prime95 tests with every BIOS and my CPU approaches in the same way.

    It seems that you're running Win 8 (or 8.1).
    Try to set high performance power scheme (make sure both min and max CPU states are set at 100%) and see what happens.
    Check your VRM settings, try to use 46 as non-turbo multiplier.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •