Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Red Jhon PC Specs
    Red Jhon PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 2101
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorAOC G2460PG
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256Gb - Raid 0 / VelociRaptor 500Gb - Raid 0
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3 Ultimate
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplySilverstone ST1500
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 - 1703
    Accessory #1 2 VelociRaptor 150Gb
    Accessory #2 Pioneer BDR-209D
    Accessory #3 Yamaha YHT-4930 Kit Home Cinema 5.1
    Red Jhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    220

    If I disable the SpeedStep or leave it active but change the power saving mode in Windows by setting it to "performance" frequency remains at 4.6 permanently. That is clear.

    In fact if I disable SpeedStep in Windows I have the bug 1Mhz and 0.00 in the task manager.

    But I want things to work well using the "balanced" energy saving.

    If the CPU does not work, shall not remain on 4.6Ghz

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Comunist Array Dartmaul PC Specs
    Dartmaul PC Specs
    MotherboardRIVE
    Processor4930k
    Memory (part number)F3-19200CL9Q-16GBZMD \ F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS
    Graphics Card #1R9 290X
    Graphics Card #2R9 290X
    Sound CardXonar DX
    MonitorDell U2913WM + 3 x Asus VW225N (Eyefinity)
    Storage #12 x Samsung 850 Pro 512GB (RAID0)
    Storage #24 x Seagate ST1000DM003 (RAID0)
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU-370SI LGA2011
    CaseLD PC-V4 Black
    Power SupplyOCZ ZX 1250W
    Keyboard Logitech G11, G13, G710, Steelseries 6Gv2, Func KB-460 (red)
    Mouse Roccat Kone, Kone XTD, Kone XTD Optical, Func MS-3
    Headset Roccat Kave, Func HS-260
    Mouse Pad Steelseries SX. Roccat Raivo, Siru, Apuri, Func F-10L, 1030XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win 7/8.1/10
    Network RouterTP-Link N600
    Dartmaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    67
    Posts
    836

    EIST (Enhanced Intel Speed Step) is a software managed feature. In other words it's a mechanism that allows Windows to tweak the CPU.

    I am using 4503 BIOS with old good Win7 and I have no such issues. Haven't you mind it's a Windows issue not a BIOS bug?

    UPD
    I just made a quick google request about this.
    https://www.google.ru/webhp?hl=ru&ta...uency&safe=off
    It seems to me that windows can't recognize cpu freq correctly, and that fact causes your issue with underclocking. (windows consider lower clocks as a max cpu freq)
    Last edited by Dartmaul; 11-08-2013 at 04:44 PM.

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    I’ve tried all of the Ivy Bridge-E compatible BIOS versions on my Rampage IV Formula, and have got the same problem in combination with a 4930K.

    With the CPU (turbo core) set to 4GHz, if a program uses 90 to 100% of the CPU, it runs at 4GHz, anything less than that and it runs at 3.4GHz.

    I’ve tried changing lots of settings, and different installs of Windows (7, 8 and 8.1), and nothing has made a difference. Definitely seems like some kind of BIOS/UEFI bug.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FireRx PC Specs
    FireRx PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900 X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD32GX4MA2800c16
    Graphics Card #1EGVA RTX 2080ti
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorLG 34" curved
    Storage #1Samsung 960 M2 SSD 1 terabyte
    Storage #2Samsumg 850 PRO SSD 1Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseLian Li VS2000
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1200 modular
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset Powerbeats Pro
    Mouse Pad Xtrac Ripper XL
    Headset/Speakers logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro 19037
    Network RouterNetGear
    Accessory #1 Logitech G940 FLight gear
    FireRx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    713

    hope they fix it soon
    Intel Core i9 7900X @4.7ghz @1.162v
    Asus Rampage VI Extreme [bios 2002]
    LG (34U97-s) Monitor 3440 x1440
    Nvidia RTX 2080ti
    Windows 10 Pro
    32gbz Memory

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Comunist Array Dartmaul PC Specs
    Dartmaul PC Specs
    MotherboardRIVE
    Processor4930k
    Memory (part number)F3-19200CL9Q-16GBZMD \ F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS
    Graphics Card #1R9 290X
    Graphics Card #2R9 290X
    Sound CardXonar DX
    MonitorDell U2913WM + 3 x Asus VW225N (Eyefinity)
    Storage #12 x Samsung 850 Pro 512GB (RAID0)
    Storage #24 x Seagate ST1000DM003 (RAID0)
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU-370SI LGA2011
    CaseLD PC-V4 Black
    Power SupplyOCZ ZX 1250W
    Keyboard Logitech G11, G13, G710, Steelseries 6Gv2, Func KB-460 (red)
    Mouse Roccat Kone, Kone XTD, Kone XTD Optical, Func MS-3
    Headset Roccat Kave, Func HS-260
    Mouse Pad Steelseries SX. Roccat Raivo, Siru, Apuri, Func F-10L, 1030XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win 7/8.1/10
    Network RouterTP-Link N600
    Dartmaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    67
    Posts
    836

    It's pretty weird cuz I newer had such issues with RIVE and 4930k with any of 4*** bioses.

    Could you guys post a complete list of bios settings?

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Red Jhon PC Specs
    Red Jhon PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 2101
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorAOC G2460PG
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256Gb - Raid 0 / VelociRaptor 500Gb - Raid 0
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3 Ultimate
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplySilverstone ST1500
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 - 1703
    Accessory #1 2 VelociRaptor 150Gb
    Accessory #2 Pioneer BDR-209D
    Accessory #3 Yamaha YHT-4930 Kit Home Cinema 5.1
    Red Jhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    220

    The BUG there, because it is rather strange that when windows starts the cpu work at 5/10% and go to 4.6Ghz and with Unigine 3.6Ghz. With this software the cpu works at 10/15% so will understand that there is something strange.

    Another thing, without Turbo, by setting 4.6Ghz, in windows everything works to 3.6GHz. If enable speedstep but not use balanced mode in windows, clearly i see always 4.6Ghz.

    The bug is in the management of frequencies under load.

    The problems there are.

    P.S. With cpu sandy bridge-e and bios 4102, if i disabled speedstep windows have not problem and give me frequency in task manager now with these new bios i see only 0,00 and 1.Mhz.

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Definately a bug somewhere.

    I’ve had this board since November 2011, so have used almost every BIOS revision. All worked perfectly well with my previous 3930k.

    Before swapping to the 4930k, I flashed to BIOS 4208. I’ve since tried 4403, 0020, 4501, 4502, and 4601. In regards to the turbo core problem, they are all exactly the same.

    My basic settings are:
    Sync all cores at 4.0GHz (also tried various individual core speeds).
    Offset VCore, -0.015v.
    All power saving modes enabled (also tried with all disabled).

    The turbo problem is even worse with single core loads, with the core speed fluctuating between 3.4 and 1.2GHz.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •