Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 40 of 40
  1. #31
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Wiggins View Post
    So ramping up the case fans would be a manual thing? The probe would not be able to initiate the ramping up and is passive?
    Look at the pics above of Fan Xpert 2, see the blue dots on the graph. You can drag those to adjust your curve. The yellow dot is the current temp sensor reading.

  2. #32
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array twisted1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    815

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Wiggins View Post
    Please explain how to physiclly interface the temp probe to he GPU, and how does the probe heat detection get transferred to the GPU fans logic control?

    There are a lot of probes on the market so some advice on choice would be appreciated.

    I'm rather confused about this whole thing.

    Best Regards;
    A better option is getting an adapter så you can run PWM fans of the gpu fan output.

    One of these:


  3. #33
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Barefooter, you said in a previous post:

    " There is no way to interface them with the GPU fans. You could put a probe on the GPU and use that to ramp up your case fans. "

    So my question is: what make of probe, how do you attach it, how do you make use of it to ramp up the case fans, and would it be a manual or software driven solution to initiate the ramp up. I'm looking for a good instructional reply as I have little experience with this.

    Best Regards;

  4. #34
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Henkenator68NL PC Specs
    Henkenator68NL PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1R9-290X
    Graphics Card #2R9-290X Matrix Platinum
    Graphics Card #3HD 6970
    Graphics Card #4HD 5970
    MonitorAcer Predator XB720H 144herz 1ms
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled loop
    CaseCooler Master HAFX and Storm Stryker
    Power SupplySeasonic Gold 1250W
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse RAT 7
    Headset Logitech G35
    Mouse Pad Steel series
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Henkenator68NL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    118
    Posts
    744

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Wiggins View Post
    Hi Folks;
    I'm a new member on this forum and just installed a Maximus VI Extreme along with an I7-4770k cpu.
    I have noticed that the ASUS supplied "OC" panel on my case shows cpu temp 9 deg Celsius higher than the "AI Suite" software running on my machine. This is pretty much consistent all the time.

    My question is which one of the displays is the most accurate? I find it very disconcerting that ASUS has two tools that don't match in readings.

    Any assistance you can provide will be greatly appreciated. Thanks to all
    Hi Robert,

    I did some testing but I can't find any differences between the readings from my OC panel and that what is stated by AI Suite II. My temps are exactly the same. Even if I compare the CPU temp reading from AIDA64 with both others they are all the same. Its strange that your temps differ.

    As for Ramping up the case Fans: If you connect them to CHA_FAN1, CHA_FAN2 or CHA_FAN3 you can certainly ramp up the case fans. That is the methode I used, the details are in post 1.

    You can connect multiple fans to each header as long as they are all the same = Brand/type/min-max RPM's (check the amps needed/used by your fans to see how much Fans you can connect to each Header). You can use y-splitters, 3-way or even 4-way splitters (see example that twisted1 showed: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...l=1#post334591

  5. #35
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Wiggins View Post
    Barefooter, you said in a previous post:

    " There is no way to interface them with the GPU fans. You could put a probe on the GPU and use that to ramp up your case fans. "

    So my question is: what make of probe, how do you attach it, how do you make use of it to ramp up the case fans, and would it be a manual or software driven solution to initiate the ramp up. I'm looking for a good instructional reply as I have little experience with this.

    Best Regards;


    You can buy the optional temp sensors from ASUS they come in a three pack, here is an old link http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?..._detail&p=2017
    it is not currently working, maybe they are out of stock.

    Anyway there are three OPT_Fans on you board with a two pin temp sensor connector right next to the OPT_Fan headers. Plug the sensors in and then you can use FanXpert to control those fans (see previous page). You can go into the bios to control them too, I think it's under the Monitor tab. Also your motherboard manual has a section on this you could review.

  6. #36
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array twisted1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    815

    You can use any cheapo temp sensor, like the ones that you get with alot of fan controllers.

    I have one sensor that monitors water temp in the loop.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	26hdk.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	19.3 KB 
ID:	33590

  7. #37
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Henkenator68NL PC Specs
    Henkenator68NL PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1R9-290X
    Graphics Card #2R9-290X Matrix Platinum
    Graphics Card #3HD 6970
    Graphics Card #4HD 5970
    MonitorAcer Predator XB720H 144herz 1ms
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled loop
    CaseCooler Master HAFX and Storm Stryker
    Power SupplySeasonic Gold 1250W
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse RAT 7
    Headset Logitech G35
    Mouse Pad Steel series
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Henkenator68NL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    118
    Posts
    744

    Quote Originally Posted by twisted1 View Post
    You can use any cheapo temp sensor, like the ones that you get with alot of fan controllers.

    I have one sensor that monitors water temp in the loop.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	26hdk.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	19.3 KB 
ID:	33590
    How did you change the name of the sensor?

    I think there is a difference in how Fan Xpert looks and behaves depending on the system / platform where its installed.

    I have a M6E with win 8.1 and a M5E with Win 7, its the same installer (I think) but the program ends up differently. Did you experience anything like that?

  8. #38
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hello everyone , im looking for best possible fan available , im a silence freak :S so i want it as quiet as it possibly could be for my case cooling system , i dont have any watercooling all i want them is for aircooling for the panel / bottom and back of my case , 4x 12 0 1x 200 is needed

  9. #39
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array twisted1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    815

    Quote Originally Posted by Henkenator68NL View Post
    How did you change the name of the sensor?

    I think there is a difference in how Fan Xpert looks and behaves depending on the system / platform where its installed.

    I have a M6E with win 8.1 and a M5E with Win 7, its the same installer (I think) but the program ends up differently. Did you experience anything like that?
    But M6E has Aisuite 3 right? While M5E has Aisuite 2.

    I changed the name of the temp sensor in fan Xpert.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3004b.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	108.0 KB 
ID:	33966

  10. #40
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by setsu View Post
    Hello everyone , im looking for best possible fan available , im a silence freak :S so i want it as quiet as it possibly could be for my case cooling system , i dont have any watercooling all i want them is for aircooling for the panel / bottom and back of my case , 4x 12 0 1x 200 is needed
    Cooler Master Seidon 120XL - PC CPU Liquid Water Cooling System, Push-Pull Kit with 120mm Radiator and 2 Fans, Maybe this can help your problem.

    Last edited by Geraldo29; 02-26-2014 at 02:09 AM.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •