Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Error message

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Error message

    Hey everyone. New guy here with a question that I could not find the answer to. I keep getting this message when I open RB,

    Realbench does not have write access in this directory. Please move the application elsewhere on your drives!

    I have moved the program around on my drives and have right clicked and opened in admin mode (even though I am the admin). J/w what needs to be done to get this to work. Sorry I am relatively new to the benchmarking community. Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Move the entire folder to your Desktop. Also, unlock the main exe just in case.

  3. #3
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,501

    Yes, probably best to put the RAR file on your desktop and extract it there...and leave the whole RealBench folder there...not just the exe. or a shortcut ...if you put it in the programs folder etc. you get this...

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I did those things and am still having the issue.

  5. #5
    Nick Array IM2L844's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    293

    I did those things and am still having the issue.
    What are you using to extract it? I had the same problem a while back using some app from the windows store. I had to use 7-Zip or WinZip to get it to work right.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by IM2L844 View Post
    What are you using to extract it? I had the same problem a while back using some app from the windows store. I had to use 7-Zip or WinZip to get it to work right.
    This! Wow all of that headache and I just needed to use 7 zip.

  7. #7
    Nick Array IM2L844's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    293

    This! Wow all of that headache and I just needed to use 7 zip.
    Cool. Glad that worked for you. Happy benching!

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by IM2L844 View Post
    Cool. Glad that worked for you. Happy benching!
    Thanks, got my first bench done. Now the tweaking.

    http://rog.asus.com/realbench/show_comment.php?id=530

  9. #9
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    WinRAR would be just as good if someone uses that although 7zip is free and allows you to make .7z archives which are the best compression currently available. Have not tested WinZip but it should be fine as well.

    That said there are a lot of compression/extraction tools out there and no one can possibly test them all for quirks. It's a standard .rar archive so any major tool should work. Random tools out there..well they may have bugs.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  10. #10
    Nick Array IM2L844's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    293

    .7z archives which are the best compression currently available.
    Didn't realize that. There are an amazing number of useful little tidbits that can be picked up for the taking all across these forums. Good information to have. Thanks.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •