Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 152
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    No VT-d support for IVB-E on R4E boards

    Hi forum,

    Just got off the horn with Asus support and they're telling me that there's no support for IOMMU/VT-d (not to be confused with VT-x) on the Rampage IV Extreme boards when using Ivy Bridge-E CPU's. And frankly, I'm a sad panda since I already sold my 3930K.

    The following is what Asus support had to say about the matter. I also asked whether Rampage IV Black Edition would support VT-d.
    we have had talks with R&D regarding the matter multiple times but i cant say for sure if anything will come out of them. I cant get a clear answer from them.
    Users on various other forums can confirm that VT-d is fully functional when using the previous Sandy Bridge-E chips. I just want to put this out there and hopefully pressuring Asus into enabling VT-d in their BIOS for IVB-E chips.

    For now, my plans of ditching dual-boot are sort of in limbo.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Let me push this up to the BIOS engineers for the Rampage boards and see what they have to say. My view was always that it is CPU dependant but hey I do not use that function at all.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Awesome!

    Also, damn that was fast.

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,453

    Quote Originally Posted by aewne View Post
    damn that was fast.
    Should change that to HiWhizMan

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    LOL Arne you on form today mate. Must be Friday
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    60
    Posts
    655

    If the 3930K could do VT-d there is no logical reason the 4930K can't.

    The 4930K clearly supports VT-d as referenced by it's ARK page here: http://ark.intel.com/products/77780

    If it is not working properly the only entity that can fix it is ASUS.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Yes, I've been waiting too, same deal with R4E and 4930K.
    My computer manufacturer (Falcon Computers) worked hard to get me a prerelease bios which I'm trying out, after I've gotten no useful response after talking to ASUS .

    I haven't verfied if it actually works yet for vt-d or just pretends, as ASUS bios have had numerous ivrs table problems etc. in the past. I'd attach a copy, but apparently you need special permission by rog for that, as upload attempts are met by "Invalid file", maybe it's too large...4 MB compressed.
    Last edited by mostlyharmless; 11-22-2013 at 08:48 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Necrosan View Post
    The 4930K clearly supports VT-d as referenced by it's ARK page here: http://ark.intel.com/products/77780
    Yep, so does Intel's X79 chipset specification. So I figure somewhere along the road Asus must have deliberately disabled it. No idea as to why though.

    Quote Originally Posted by mostlyharmless View Post
    I'd attach a copy, but apparently you need special permission by rog for that, as upload attempts are met by "Invalid file", maybe it's too large...4 MB compressed.
    Cool, sent you a PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    On it's way, let us know how it works

  10. #10
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    VT-d is working perfectly fine for SB-E chips. I can personally verify that. My guess is that there is somekind of quirk to be ironed out on the UEFI side for the IB-E chips.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •