Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Maximus VI Extreme - PC Boots Too Slow on SSD

    I replaced my ASUS P8Z68 V LX mobo with Maximus VI Extreme to get the top performance on apps and games. My old system (i7 2600K @ 4.4 GHz, P8Z68 V LX mobo, Corsair Force GT 120, Silverstone Strider 1200W) used to fully boot in about 10 seconds and shut down in 4 seconds but my new system which is way better (i7 4770K @ 3.9 GHz, Maximus VI Extreme mobo, Corsair Force GT 120, Silverstone Strider 1200W) boots in 60 seconds. Fast boot switch is turned on and Slow mode is off. Below is a list of my failed attempts:

    - I updated the BIOS. Nothing changed.
    - Tried different plugs. Nothing changed.

    One of the reasons why I use an SSD is to get rid of the boot time. How can I get around this issue?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Did you physically change the Slow mode toggle?

    Run some application like super pi with CPUz open and see if your system is running at full speed. Normally you do not need to even mess with the slow mode toggle.

    Try and find out what controller your SSD uses, Haswell does not play nice at all with Sandforce 2 controllers. And I think your Kingston is such a controller.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Did you physically change the Slow mode toggle?

    Run some application like super pi with CPUz open and see if your system is running at full speed. Normally you do not need to even mess with the slow mode toggle.

    Try and find out what controller your SSD uses, Haswell does not play nice at all with Sandforce 2 controllers. And I think your Kingston is such a controller.
    My SSD is not Kingston, it is Corsair. So, which SSD would be an ideal one for my system?

  4. #4
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Please break down the boot process time. How long from power on until something is shown on the monitor, from this time until the Windows loading screen appears and finally from the Windows loading screen to the desktop. The problematic SandForce controllers are SATA 3Gb/s so your drive should be fine.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    Please break down the boot process time. How long from power on until something is shown on the monitor, from this time until the Windows loading screen appears and finally from the Windows loading screen to the desktop. The problematic SandForce controllers are SATA 3Gb/s so your drive should be fine.
    I tested the boot up time using this script here: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...tart-time.html (I'm not sure if it's reliable, though) and it said my system fully booted in 60 seconds.

  6. #6
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    We need the times I posted above.
    Last edited by Praz; 11-24-2013 at 09:54 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Henkenator68NL PC Specs
    Henkenator68NL PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1R9-290X
    Graphics Card #2R9-290X Matrix Platinum
    Graphics Card #3HD 6970
    Graphics Card #4HD 5970
    MonitorAcer Predator XB720H 144herz 1ms
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled loop
    CaseCooler Master HAFX and Storm Stryker
    Power SupplySeasonic Gold 1250W
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse RAT 7
    Headset Logitech G35
    Mouse Pad Steel series
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Henkenator68NL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    118
    Posts
    744

    Did you run as SSD test or aida64 Hdd test??

    What are the results there? Also when switching an SSD to a new system, I always secure erase it, to get max base performance.

    And a Maximus vi extreme is super, but it also carries a lot of tools/options etc that when not used, doe increase boot time. So disable any unused things like bleutooth, wifi, sata ports that are not used. This might increase the boot speed also.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •