Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 104
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    I simply have no way to test it. no other x79 systems here and i live in north georgia so theres no way to get anything other then just getting a new one off the internet and there 500$. besides, if it was the cpu would the motherboard not try and post and give me a cpu led or some code to tell me the cpu was bad or not installed correctly? if its the cpu thats fine at least i would know what it is. what if i take it apart and inspect the socket and the cpu and it all looks good, should i assume the cpu is bad and rma that? Thanks for posting FireRx!

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array grassy PC Specs
    grassy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS
    MotherboardRAMPAGE 4 BLACK/RIG 2 RAMPAGE FORMULA
    Processor3960X/ RIG 2 4820k
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 980 TI STRIX OC
    Graphics Card #2RIG 2 GTX 690 SLI
    Graphics Card #3RIG 2 GTX 690 SLI
    Sound CardAUZENTECH 7.1 XFI DTSMA
    MonitorDELL U3011/RIG 2 VIEWSONIC MONITOR
    Storage #1480GIG/360GIG/250GIG SSD
    Storage #2RIG 2 180GIG SSD
    CPU CoolerHEATKILLER PRO WATERBLOCK/RIG 2 CORSAIR H105
    CaseIN-WIN 909/1 COOLERMASTER WHITE STRYKER CASES/IN-WIN 909
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AX1200/ RIG 2 CORSAIR HX750
    Keyboard 2 G19'S
    Mouse 2 G9 LASER
    Mouse Pad RIG 2 STRYK X
    Headset/Speakers RIG 2 TWO B&W COMPUTER SPEAKERS
    OS WIN 10 HOME/RIG 2 WIN 7 PRO
    grassy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    612

    Hi there and sorry to hear about your friend i hope he pulls through. Try taking your board out of the case and try starting it that way, as if it is the motherboard it will have to come out anyway. I wont suggest to go straight into updating the bios but keep it in mind.
    FAME IS A MASK THAT EATS INTO THE FACE

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    Thanks grassy, Yea i will give it a shot tomorrow before i remove the cpu just to make sure. ive been thinking and it may just be the cpu. its allmost like its not there anymore and the board wont even start to post. anyone know what happens when you try to start one of these up without a cpu in it? does it just sit there with the start button and stuff lit like you havent hit the start button yet? and sorry about the thread name, i was just sure it was the mobo because it worked for a short time.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array grassy PC Specs
    grassy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS
    MotherboardRAMPAGE 4 BLACK/RIG 2 RAMPAGE FORMULA
    Processor3960X/ RIG 2 4820k
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 980 TI STRIX OC
    Graphics Card #2RIG 2 GTX 690 SLI
    Graphics Card #3RIG 2 GTX 690 SLI
    Sound CardAUZENTECH 7.1 XFI DTSMA
    MonitorDELL U3011/RIG 2 VIEWSONIC MONITOR
    Storage #1480GIG/360GIG/250GIG SSD
    Storage #2RIG 2 180GIG SSD
    CPU CoolerHEATKILLER PRO WATERBLOCK/RIG 2 CORSAIR H105
    CaseIN-WIN 909/1 COOLERMASTER WHITE STRYKER CASES/IN-WIN 909
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AX1200/ RIG 2 CORSAIR HX750
    Keyboard 2 G19'S
    Mouse 2 G9 LASER
    Mouse Pad RIG 2 STRYK X
    Headset/Speakers RIG 2 TWO B&W COMPUTER SPEAKERS
    OS WIN 10 HOME/RIG 2 WIN 7 PRO
    grassy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    612

    No need to be sorry about anything mate, i have never tried to start a pc without a cpu so i really dont know what would happen. I have been down this same road you are going down at the moment not knowing what the problem is so many times and been through 3 motherboards in 18 months and its not pleasant. I now have a rule which is always invest in an extra power supply also an extra cpu and a spare video card. It costs money but also it can save you money and a massive headache especially when it comes to motherboards. Just having them items spare is a godsend. Keep us posted on this as i also have this board and just waiting for my case to arrive which will be monday or tuesday.
    FAME IS A MASK THAT EATS INTO THE FACE

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    This should be a really simple process...if you are having problems you might like to memtest86+ your RAM to make sure it is working well and not corrupting OS install. Same for error checking disk. If these are good then all you need to do is install latest LAN, Chipset and MEI drivers and everything should work fine. The MEI is one people seem to overlook and can leave a missing device in Device Manager.

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    my first post covers exactly what happened and what ive done. i had windows installed, it powered down and i reset the cmos and all that. i turn on the psu, the motherboard lights up, i hit the start button and nothing happens. it does not try to post. it doesnt do anything it just sits there. i had one stick of memory in the near grey slot on the right and one vid card. i cleared cmos i switched bioses, i tried two psus. it just pisses me off because i got teased. i was in windows with all my memory picked up and everything was great then it just quit. there is no damage anywhere on the board or on any of my hardware or wires...either the cpu or the motherboard quit working and im trying to figure out which one to rma. FireRx says he had a similar thing happen to him and it was the cpu. i hope thats it but i dont know. the system posted, and worked for a short time. thats all i know at this point.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Start with the following steps.

    1. Remove the motherboard from the case.
    2. Put it on top of the box that it came in.
    3. Remove every single component and disconnect all the cables.
    4. Inspect the CPU socket for any bent or missing pins.
    5. Inspect the backside of the CPU for any markings or black spots.

    Report back your findings.

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    looks good. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	intel 4930k 002.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	256.8 KB 
ID:	30370Click image for larger version. 

Name:	intel 4930k 005.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	540.0 KB 
ID:	30371Click image for larger version. 

Name:	intel 4930k 007.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	620.3 KB 
ID:	30369
    the back looked fine so i just put it in its case.
    Last edited by BeeF_DriPPings; 11-30-2013 at 12:59 AM.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    1. Remove the CMOS battery for 10 minutes.
    2. Push the Start button.
    3. Put the CMOS battery back into place after 10 minutes.
    4. Install the your CPU and your heatsink making sure you don't overtighten the screws.
    5. Insert one stick of RAM into the DIMM_D1 slot.
    6. Connect the 24 pin, 8 pin and 4 pin power cables.
    7. Push the Start button.

    Now. The questions.

    1. When you connected the 24 pin, 8 pin and 4 pin power cables, did the Start and Reset button light up? Did the SupremeFX red line light up?

    2. Did the motherboard start up?

    A.) If it did, are there any QCODEs on the DEBUG LED? And which of the 4 QLEDs that are beside the 24 pin power connector stay lit?

    B.) Did your heatsink's fan spin up even if for a brief second?

  10. #20
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    71

    I had a similar problem once. Turned out a random motherboard screw was causing a short beween the board and the case. In my situation, the pc ran for weeks until I moved it. I think that jostled the screw and it took me three weeks to figure out the screw. My advice is to strip the board down to bare essentials outside of the case - just a keyboard, mouse and boot drive. And video card of course. Does it work then? If not , well you've already done most of the the disassembly to get it ready for RMA.
    Intel 3770K 4.4ghz, 1.24v. . . . . . . . . . . . . .Intel 4930k 4.7ghz 1.37v
    32 gGSkill DR3Trident 2400mhz 1.65v. . . .32 g 1866 Vengeance Pro
    ASUS M5G. Noctua D14. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . H110. Noctua A14x4
    prime95 stable 78degrees. . . . . . . . . . . . . IBT 75 degrees
    OCZ V4 OS. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . EVO 1TB
    Seasonic 700w. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1200AX
    All tucked into Lian Li A05. . . . . . . . . . . . . .Fractal Midiv2

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •