Page 39 of 66 FirstFirst ... 29 37 38 39 40 41 49 ... LastLast
Results 381 to 390 of 660
  1. #381
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array nikosa43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    73
    Posts
    1,014

    Sometimes I forget me either ... But not last night

  2. #382
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Nikos what kind of temps are you getting when your system fails? Might have some tips for you to pass the benchmark.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #383
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array nikosa43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    73
    Posts
    1,014

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Nikos what kind of temps are you getting when your system fails? Might have some tips for you to pass the benchmark.
    Depends on Vcore. For 5.0G it's about 1.55Volts, for 5.1G 1.63Volts. So, for 5150 I guess I need 1.68 to 1.70Volts. At 1.70Volts (CPUz reported 1.72Volts), hitted 90 degrees which still leaves a small margin to Tjmax of 105. I think, because the cooling system is not efficient at that level and temps rise instantly, it goes to a loop. After 70-80 degrees current leakage starting. Because power losses that goes to heat, the chip needs more voltage to be stable. By increasing Vcore to stabilize it, temperature rises even more, giving more instability. So, the answer is only one, to keep it as cold as possible. I guess if I could keep temps very low, I would use less voltage for the given clocks. For last night runs, I replaced the Noctua fans and used 2x Skythe Ulta kaze (12x12x38, 3000rpm) in push pull and a Noctua 1500rpm in the middle of NH-D14. I used two more fans for VRMs and memory and a noisy PAPST sticked to the VRMs to the back of the mainboard. Ambient was about 8 d and cores idled about 25. As soon as it hits 85-90, Handbrake crashes. I didnt have even one BSOD which means power was enough and memory timmings was OK. LLC was to Ultra High as usual. One thing I noticed through task manager was the lack of throttling. I didnt see throtling of the cores even once, that's why I thought about memory/IMC problems and dropped 2666 CL9 to 2400 CL10. No change at all. I know I need water (currently not possible). Any good idea/explanation would be welcome.

  4. #384
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    [QUOTE=Arne Saknussemm;352205]
    Menthol? Yes...the great white lurking in the depths....when he said I took it as a warning LOL Attachment 31321

    Que the sound track to Jaws Arne he's headed your way

  5. #385
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,444

    Nikos....one thing...have you tried without the fan in the middle of the NH-D14? I wonder if the mismatch in pressure and RPM might mean it acts more like a wall than a help to airflow from the other fans...

    Are you regularly unziping a fresh copy of RB if it crashes?

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Cue the sound track to Jaws Arne he's headed your way
    LOL...I knew it ...good stuff...your chip strapped in?
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 12-20-2013 at 11:08 PM. Reason: spelling correction for free ;-)

  6. #386
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array twisted1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    815

    nikosa43!

    The problems you have in RB sound exactly like mine. I can get 5150 stable but not 5200, handbrake CLI crashes 2sec into the encoding bench.

    Temps is not the problem, usually not above 65C. Higher Vcore doesn't seem to help, I don't know how far I can push it. But as long as the temps are ok mooar Vcore is fine, right?

    How far can I push it?, will 1.8V kill the CPU? The temps are under control so that's not a problem. And which other voltages can help stability? The scenario is pretty much the same in 3dm11, 5150 will pass but 5200 is a no go. Not getting any BSOD's or anything like that.

  7. #387
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    That is a heap of voltage guys. I did not realise you were using that much to get 5GHz.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #388
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array meankeys PC Specs
    meankeys PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex / Maximus IX APEX / Rampage V EX V10
    Processor7920X / 5960X / 6950X / 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z - 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC
    Monitor3 X ASUS V248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCool Express SS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 1200W
    Keyboard Cyberus
    Headset Tittan
    OS Win 7 64bit
    Network RouterASUS
    meankeys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    1,553

    Great run Arne. way to go bro

    This new cpu I am very happy with. It loves 1.685V over 5200 MHz RB that is ppl set high I past RB @ 5278 1.685V I havent tried any higher yet as I need a good Vantage score to post my set. Question I am @ 5278 Feq have my spi and RB scores dose the vantage score need to be higher than my previous score at a lower clock?

  9. #389
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array twisted1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    815

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    That is a heap of voltage guys. I did not realise you were using that much to get 5GHz.
    My chip doesn't need that much for 5Ghz, however when I go for 5.2-5.3 I need to bump the Vcore a lot.

    The other problem is probably the guy @keyboard(me)

  10. #390
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,444

    Quote Originally Posted by meankeys View Post
    Great run Arne. way to go bro...

    does the vantage score need to be higher than my previous score at a lower clock?
    Thanks meankeys....you got your rig dialled in too! almost 5.3GHz

    The score doesn't have to be higher...just nicer for you if it is ....funny it's not though...any throttling running vantage?

    Quote Originally Posted by twisted1 View Post
    The other problem is probably the guy @keyboard
    Hehe twisted...I'm always pretty sure that's my rig's limitation too LOL
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 12-21-2013 at 08:43 AM.

Page 39 of 66 FirstFirst ... 29 37 38 39 40 41 49 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •