cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Maximus Hero Build, External Sound Card NOT WORKING...need help

Zoolanda
Level 7
hey all!

a couple of days ago i finished my new build i am a music producer and casual gamer, my components include;

CPU : Intel i7 4770K
MOBO : Asus Maximus Hero
RAM : Corsair Vengeance 16gig (8x2) 1833
VGA : Asus GTX 480 (Getting GTX 780ti soon)
HDD : 1, Samsung 820 Pro 256GIG. 2, Seagate 320GIG. 3, Western Digital 2TB
SOUND : MOTU Ultralite MK3 Hybrid
PSU : Zalman 750W Heat Pipe Cooler
COOLING : Corsair H100i
CASE : HAF 932
Windows 7 Ultimate

now with that out of the way here is my dilemma...

my MOTU soundcard worked perfectly on my last computer and i have double checked it with my Macbook Pro today and the sound card works perfectly being connected via USB...

i have updated all the drivers and firmware and even rolled back the drivers of both the soundcard and the MOBO but it still doesnt work, now this is what happens...

as i turn the computer and the sound card on the computer picks up the soundcard as well as my Digital Audio Workstation (DAW) i use Fruity Loops 9 XXL Producer edition. When i play a sound in either iTunes or my DAW it will play for less than half a second and then send out a high pitch tone through my monitor speakers, the original sound (song or sample) will cease to play at all. As my soundcard has a digital display the "IN" signal spikes and holds its level as long as it stays on. My understanding is there is a problem with the signal going from the MOBO to the MOTU, i have tried changing the USB cables and changed the USB ports i put the MOTU into regardless of USB 2 or 3 or front USB ports but have the same result. I have deactivated the other sound drivers on the computer through computer management to just isolate the MOTU but i have the same result. i have tried many things but i and just dumbfounded.