Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Maximus VI Gene Problem - Not booting to BIOS.

    I know this is wall of text, but I'd really appreciate the help!

    Ok, so I built my computer (specs to follow), and it ran well for a couple of weeks. I installed Luna OS, and had a partition ready to install WIndows 7. After doing so I wanted to get back to my Linux distro only to discover I hadn't prepared the bootloader properly - to save some time; I had to wipe my whole SSD and prepared to install WIndows 7.

    Unfortunately, when I came to booting my computer, it did no boot to BIOS (At least, it won't show up/activate my screen). I've had a look at the mobo and the QCode is "A2" and the "BOOT_DEVICE_LED" is lit up. I've tried everything from clearing CMOS, updating BIOS, removing battery from mobo...everything short of pulling the whole system apart and reseating everything (which I don't have too much time for at the moment.)

    Any suggestions or if someone is willing to walk me through some steps, that would be great!

    Thankyou!

    Computer Specs:
    Mobo - Asus Maximus VI Gene
    CPU - Intel i7-4770K
    GPU - Gigabyte GTX770 4GB OC
    RAM - Corsair Vengeance 2*4
    SSD - Corsair Neutron GTX 240G
    HDD - WD Green 2TB
    PSU - Corsair GS600-V2
    Case - BitFenix Prodigy M
    Stock fans/cpu cooler

    Happy to give any more info when needed.

  2. #2
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Try switching off the PSU and pulling the plug for a good couple of hours and see how you go.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Pull the other SATA devices from your system.

    Now with only the SSD fitted let your system post up. F8 to select your boot device. Install OS with a USB stick. Microsoft USB tool for Windows and which ever loader you are comfortable with if Linux.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hey guys, thanks for the response.

    I've had it unplugged all day today while I was at work, same problem.

    As for only connecting SSD, same thing happened, so couldn't even select which boot device to go to, I even switched out cables just in case.

    A friend of mine came over and said its possibly a graphics driver issue in the BIOS or something similar. He (very thoughtfully) took it home to have a play with it as he has spare time to look at it (and has much deeper knowledge than me).

    I'll keep you all posted on what the outcome is, thanks again for the quick response!

  5. #5
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Drivers do not work in BIOS

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    A graphic driver will not make any difference until the system hands over to AHCI (Operating system)

    Keep us informed.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Yeah thats what I thought.

    Anyway, my mate managed to fix the computer. Apparently the BIOS had set itself to skip the intro logo and boot straight to SSD...which had no OS on it, so it kinda just sat there...
    Not sure why clearing CMOS and removing the battery for a while didn't fix that, but I'm just glad its all good again.

    Thanks for the help anyway guys! It's nice to know theres good support for ROG gear! =D

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    OK all good. Thread closed.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •