Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Exclamation Asus rog raidr speed problem

    Hello I have a problem with my asus rog raidr,


    It is a very nice product, very easy to install and works quite fast.
    But I checked my sequential speed for read and writes on "CrystalDiskMark" and it doesn't go as high as it should go. I have the 240 gb version**, so normally it should be 830/ 810 MB/s sequential read/write speed but i barely reach 700 mb/sec for read speed. This is why I post this message. How can I make it go faster, must I change something in the Bios, or is the product defect...?

    here's the specs of my pc:

    *Motherboard Asus rampage IV extreme*
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4930K CPU @ 3.40GHz
    Memory (RAM) 64.0 GB
    Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
    Primary hard disk 116GB Free (223GB Total) + 1Tb Velociraptor



    I thank you in advance for your answer, have a nice day!


    **Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	8 
Size:	49.7 KB 
ID:	30501

  2. #2
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Which slot did you install the RAIDR into?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Thank you for moving the post I didn't know where to post, i realise yet my error.

    I installed the RAIDR in the PCIE x8 slot on my asus rampage iv extreme board, a black slot, on the manual it is written for that slot: PCIE_X8_2B


    this black slot that shown here:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Layouté.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	234.6 KB 
ID:	30517

  4. #4
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,388

    Use one of the red slots. That slot is on the PCH.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Thank you for your answer Nodens. Is it a good solution knowing that I have my OS on the asus rog RAIDR and a lot of my programs.. will it change anything..? or can I try this solution

  6. #6
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,388

    Changing the slot will not affect your data
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Thanks a lot nodens, i will try this solution, i'll give you feedback directly after!

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Ok, I changed it, I put it on the red slot just under it.. but unfortunately no drastic change in performance...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture2.JPG 
Views:	9 
Size:	51.0 KB 
ID:	30524

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I wan to be like this disk

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture3.JPG 
Views:	9 
Size:	50.5 KB 
ID:	30534

    no but the write speed seems low on my rog.. I looked up for the read speeds , and other people seem to have the same for read speed but more for the write speed...

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    71

    Every SSD manufacture uses Atto which uses other files then for example AS SSD Benchmakr which is way better to see the real performance of an ssd.

    Atto is good to get high benchmark but for nothing else. It not realistic for daily use. no wonder manufactures uses the read/write speed from that program to show the theoretical maximum.

    Use AS SSD Benchmark. You wont get the advertised 800 but sometihng about 700 if i remember right which is good.
    and just for fun bench it with atto. then you should get about 800 to get sure that the disk isnt hold back by something
    Last edited by DragonClaVV; 12-05-2013 at 10:48 AM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •