Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Question Wifi "limited" problem----Need help!

    Hi there.

    I just brought my brand new G750jw couple hours ago. I'm so happy with it! It truly is a wonderful laptop for me!

    Everything was good in the first hour, until at some point where the wifi connection is "limited".

    Now I've tried lots of method on the internet that I can find with my iphone (since my laptop "hates" the internet connection), and non of them worked. So please at least don't tell me to un-check the "Allow this computer to turn off the device to save power" option under "power management" found in network and sharing center.

    I really do need help with this issue. I've also asked my friends but the only answer I got was "switch back to win 7"...which I have no intend of doing. Please, help me with this issue!

    Thank you!

    And btw, the keyboard is awesome!!

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    1) What type of 802.11 Wireless network are you trying to connect to? B/G/N on 2.4 or N/AC on 5ghz?
    2) Are you using DHCP or a static IP?
    3) What does ipconfig /all show?
    4) Are you able to ping the default gateway?
    5) If yes to 4, are you able to ping 8.8.8.8?
    6) What is the device that is broadcasting the wireless?

    Please don't ask us *not* to ask you simple questions when you only list 1 method you checked, otherwise we will. I can't guess what you have looked at :-/.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    2,219

    If you haven't tried it already, restart Win8 (instead of shutting down) to make sure the problem is still there before you start worrying about the other stuff since this should clean out or reset your software some (in a manner of speaking anyway).

    Although it may not help too often, it's easy enough to try.

    If you don't have anything you're worried about though, you might also consider either system restore if a restore point is available to set the system back to an earlier date, or just erase everything and reset/recovery back to the factory original condition to really clean everything out and start over since your system is so new.
    Last edited by cl-Albert; 12-05-2013 at 11:03 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    WatchGuard, thank you for replying.

    I asked "not" to because all I've seen is that solution.

    So here's what I've done so far:

    1). I tried to reset the TCP/IP using netsh.exe
    2). I tried using command prompt typing "ipconfig /all" - "ipconfig /release" - "ipconfig /renew" which I have no idea what it is since I'm a total idiot about computer system settings.
    3). I tried diable WMM, and since it doesn't work I switched back to "auto"
    4). All those reconnecting/rebooting both router and cable/rebooting laptop, these helped me to be able to post thread...

    To answer your question:

    1). Netgear N300, WNR2000. It's a 802.11b/g/n 2.4 GHz type. After looking up some websites I wonder if this is the problem
    2). I believe it is a DHCP
    3). It shows a bunch of stuff which I don't even know where to begin
    4). No, I'm not able ping my default gateway. It shows "request time out"
    6). Arris TM822G from Optimum with the Netgear router.

    I hope these answers are useful, except the third answer since I really don't know what information do you want, or just the whole thing.

    Again, thank you for your reply!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    I don't know if you're having the same issue as me. I have the G750JW also and almost on a daily basis the wireless adapter will get a "limited connection". I have to right click the signal icon at the bottom right and go to "Open network and sharing center" the click "Change adapter settings" all the way on the left pane and manually disable the wireless adapter and then renable it and connect to my network and it fixes it instantly. This didn't happen to I upgraded to 8.1.. but like I said idk if this is the exact issue you're having but give it a try.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    cl-Albert, I restarted several times. Didn't work tho

    I really don't want to back to the factory original condition unless it is absolutely necessary.

    But still, thanks for the advice!

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    jbreeze22b, I tried your method just now. It didn't work for me

    But I'm glad it worked for you

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Did you restart your computer after doing the ipconfig /renew? If that doesn't work you might have to restore your computer back to factory... it's not fun and is very time comsuming, especially if you do the full format which I do when I've formatted in the past. I'm out of ideas but good luck. Hope you get it resolved!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    2,219

    If you haven't had the notebook for more than a day, wondering if there could be any issues related to radio interference (I may be totally wrong).
    If it's easy to move somewhere else to connect to a different wireless access point, or try a different system at your location, you may want to compare this way.

    Also, unplug any USB devices temporarily just to see if this makes any difference.

    Well, hopefully others have better ideas if these aren't helpful.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Guys, Thank you again for offering methods

    I'm now having no problem connecting internet using a cable instead of wifi.

    Since I'm not planning to take it outside anytime soon, I'll stick with actualy cable for now and try to find more information. I still think it could be my router's problem since it's a 2.4GHz which seems to work better for b/g/n's.

    Anyway, I'll try to get a new router soon, and then post here for updates about this problem. I hope these can help other people who have the same issue.

    Thanks again!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •