Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    AI Suite 3 FTP Connection

    I have AI Suite 3 running on a Maximus VI Extreme board. I noticed that there is always a FTP connection to 103.10.4.40 (ftp.asus.com.tw) by AI Suite 3. I don't have EZ Update installed as part of AI suite 3 so I am not sure why there is a ftp connection.

    Is this normal behavior?
    It seems strange that the connection is there all the time.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    358
    Posts
    25,742

    Think it is part of the application, no idea why mind.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    yeah it has a consistant connection for me too. I'm going to either block it or uninstall the app. No reason to have this kind of constant phone home.

    edit:
    ok seems to be the update option. I disabled update and havent seen it pop back up for a few minutes.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    358
    Posts
    25,742

    Good to know and thanks for the report back.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    I just discovered this while diagnosing a network problem. How do I disable checking for updates?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    117

    I am trying to use the AI Suite III Remover Tool and get an Executable Error Code 5. Access Denied.
    Should I try something different as I have already uninstalled this from my Windows 7 Ultimate?
    Asus Maximus VI Formula-CaseLabs SM8 Case-Corsair K70 Keyboard
    Corsair 16GB Vengeance Pro 2133-Dell 2560 X 1440 Monitor-Func MS-3 Mouse
    Intel i4770K-Noctua NF-A14 PMW Case Fans-Prolimatech Genesis Black CPU Cooler/Fans
    Samsung SSD 840 Pro-Seasonic Platinum SS-860XP-Windows 7 Ultimate

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    You can disable the FTP inside the AI Suite. Go to Settings > Application tab. Remove the check from the Update box. This will stop the constant ftp calls to 103.10.4.40. This is also where you would disable any of the tools you don't use so they do not run needlessly, for example TurboEVO if you are not overclocking.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    After you disable the Updates in AI Suite, you will notice constant ICMP ping from your PC to 202.39.253.11. See the following page for details.
    http://security.stackexchange.com/qu...quest-to-an-ip.

    Hey Asus, why are you building in phone-home and ICMP signal backdoors into your products? I guess I will uninstall AI Suite and plan on using MSI for my next build.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Can we get an official statement from ASUS?

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    2,563

    In My AI Suite ll the FTB Connection to "asus.com.tw" or other FTB asus sites never connect , always times out, it only worked once when I bought my pc and upgraded the Bios . since then has never worked to connect, its part of the suite app , Asus must have awful servers slower than ice flows , just like this forum site at times. EZ Update never works either for that matter , always times out or error "cannot connect to server" for a new pc users this is a problem I suggest , as they might like updates , and cannot figure out on their own what to install . without screwing up their hardware , asus should fix this I say major problem for new users.
    Last edited by toronto699; 09-16-2014 at 08:01 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •