Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    Exclamation Sabertooth Z87 Thermal Radar 2 problem(s)

    Hi all!

    I'm using Win 8.1 x64 and have (a) strange problem(s) with Thermal Radar 2:
    At first, a fan which was set to not run till 40 degrees always ran.
    After toggling Auto-Stop off and on again and hitting OK it worked.
    But now the fan doesn't spin at all!
    When the temp goes over the minimum, it shows up like this, but doesn't run. Some other fans seems to behave similar, but the Assistant fans always work.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thermal_radar.PNG 
Views:	2 
Size:	350.5 KB 
ID:	30728

    I hope you can help me!
    Last edited by abcdeluxe; 12-07-2013 at 06:39 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    Update:
    When I get even more heat, the fan starts to spin (what it should have done alot earlier), but it looks like it is slower, than it should be:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thermal_radar_2.PNG 
Views:	2 
Size:	474.9 KB 
ID:	30748

    Also today my fan is randomly starting up and stopping again, when the temperature is low. It looks like this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thermal_radar_3.PNG 
Views:	2 
Size:	484.2 KB 
ID:	30749

    Why is that?
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos thermal_radar_2.PNG  

    thermal_radar_3.PNG  


  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    Am I the only one with this issue?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by abcdeluxe View Post
    Am I the only one with this issue?
    It's possible that you have unique issue like this because you feed fans with too much informations from sensors. Limit, for example, rear Assistant Fan to SATA6G sensor - set slider to 100% and others to 0% or set Vcore 30% and SATA6G to 70% (sum always must be 100% ) or if you wish put None as option for sensor.

    Same for mid assistant fan - limit that fan to PCH sensor, CPU Fan is to CPU sensor as measuring point (at 100%)

    Front intake fans (if you connected them to MB) link to custom sensor probes from motherboard.


    For example I didn't link thermal probes/diodes to anything in AI Suite 3 because I have CM Silencio with low/high switch on front panel.
    My rear Assist fan is linked to VCORE at 30% and SATA6G with 70%. Midle Assistant fan is linked only to PCH sensor like in this pictures:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.png 
Views:	3 
Size:	546.5 KB 
ID:	31999

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	593.9 KB 
ID:	32000

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	543.9 KB 
ID:	32001
    i5 4670K (no OC) on Sabertooth Z87, Asus GTX760 DC2OC, Corsair Vengeance 8GB @XMP 1600, Cooler Master M2 720W - Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler
    WD Blue 1TB (EZEX), WD Green 2TB (EARX)

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    Sorry for late reply. I didnt get a notification...

    Why do you think that would change something? But anyway ill try it out and report.

    EDIT: You got an idea why these points showing the temp/fan speed sometimes show up "flying" as you can see on my screenshots?
    Last edited by abcdeluxe; 01-27-2014 at 12:40 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by abcdeluxe View Post
    Sorry for late reply. I didnt get a notification...

    Why do you think that would change something? But anyway ill try it out and report.

    EDIT: You got an idea why these points showing the temp/fan speed sometimes show up "flying" as you can see on my screenshots?
    Flying dot usualy means temeprature rise od down. It's not a bug but is slow and because of that is confuzing. Simply ignore this and look down for temepratures
    i5 4670K (no OC) on Sabertooth Z87, Asus GTX760 DC2OC, Corsair Vengeance 8GB @XMP 1600, Cooler Master M2 720W - Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler
    WD Blue 1TB (EZEX), WD Green 2TB (EARX)

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    Sometimes it's confusing, because I never saw the temp high but it was nevertheless "flying"...

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    Again, it won't help
    The fan is spinning without the gpu sensor having high temps at all... (The gpu is at 0 load so there is no chance for the sensor to measure high temps)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TR.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	564.7 KB 
ID:	33120
    Last edited by abcdeluxe; 02-02-2014 at 10:41 PM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Cool Thermal Radar 2 FIX

    Hi,
    Thermal Radar 2 worked fine for me (Gryphon Z87) for a long time then suddenly it behaved similar to your description. The dot goes up but the rpm of the fans do not change.

    I think “Display Driver Uninstaller” (DDU) removed some driver or something but I am not sure.

    I fixed it like this:
    Uninstalled “AISuite3_1.00.67 for Gryphon Z87”
    CCleaner (register cleaning)
    Installed “AISuitiii for Maximus VIII GENE” (newer but simpler version)
    Tested ok
    Uninstalled “AISuitiii for Maximus VIII GENE”
    Installed AISuite3_1.00.67 for Gryphon Z87
    Tested ok

    I think a reinstall of AISuite3 is enough though.

    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/MA...Desk_Download/

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    Hi,

    thanks for the info,
    at the moment I don't even know, if mine is working properly, because as long, as my computer isn't annoying me with noise, I don't even start Ai Suite
    I will report though, if this issue returns. This is probably the like fifth clean install, after I started this thread

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •